Doubt...

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by rdsu, Nov 29, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    Hi,

    I have a doubt about this:

    When I open the StartupRun, this will open in the same instant with avast! Home Edition and take a lot of time with NOD32 (about 5 sec)! This also happen, for example, with WinPatrol...

    The avast! Home Edition have the "Standard Shield" set to high sensitivity.

    The NOD32 have the AMON with the Extra settings for Nod32 made by Blackspear.

    Can someone explain this difference?

    Thanks
     
    Last edited: Nov 29, 2004
  2. no13

    no13 Retired Major Resident Nutcase

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Posts:
    1,327
    Location:
    Wouldn't YOU like to know?
    try the stuff from www.mlin.net instead of using StartRun... may solve some stuff....
    No probs with Win Patrol here.
    Maybe its 'coz BOTH avs are having RTS enabled at the same time. Disable one and see what happens.
     
  3. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    RTS? This means Real Time Shield?

    I've only one AV turn ON each time...
     
  4. no13

    no13 Retired Major Resident Nutcase

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Posts:
    1,327
    Location:
    Wouldn't YOU like to know?
    yeah (real time scanner, if you wanna nitpick).
    Hmm... maybe some other component is being accessed by both simultaneously....
    Better option: wait for the ESET guys. They'll know better.
    Hold on till then.
    Regards.
    no13.
     
  5. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    Thanks anyway ;)
     
  6. ellison64

    ellison64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Posts:
    2,499
    Im not certain but does high security scan "all files" in avast?.When i used it i recall i had to use the custom option to scan all files.Is your avast set to scan all files?.Also avast at present (im pretty certain) doesnt use any heuristics ..only a malware/virus database , so maybe this is why nod takes longer?I also use the nod extra settings and havent experienced any huge delay such as what you are experiencing so there may be a conflict somewhere too.
    ellison
     
  7. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    avast! 4.5 checks all files on High settings
     
  8. ellison64

    ellison64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Posts:
    2,499
    Thank you for correction rejzor.
    ellison
     
  9. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    And this happens even when I only had the NOD32 installed...
     
  10. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    I have sent an email requesting someone take a look at this thread.

    Cheers :D
     
  11. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    Thanks Blackspear :)
     
  12. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    The first reply have an error!
    I said that the NOD32 takes about 5min, and the correct value is 5sec!!!


    Another example:

    If I open the "Display Startup Info..." option in the tray icon of WinPatrol, with avast takes about +/- 1 sec, and with NOD32 about +/-10 sec...
     
  13. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Could you please confirm you did have only one on-access scanner activated at the time the delay occured?

    If so, please try disabling the use of heuristics in AMON's setup to see if it makes a difference.
     
  14. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    Yes, I have only one on-access scanner enable.
    I disabled the "Heuristics" and "Advanced Heuristics", and the result is the same...
     
  15. no13

    no13 Retired Major Resident Nutcase

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Posts:
    1,327
    Location:
    Wouldn't YOU like to know?
    try removing one AV ENTIRELY from the memory at a time. Maybe that'll help. It could be your OS too.
     
  16. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    When I tested this two AV's, only one AV was active of each time, this means, for example, that only the service and process of NOD32 are enabled and the services and process of avast are disabled...

    And I already said that when I only had the NOD32 installed on my computer, this problem already exist...
     
  17. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    What about disabling the use of heuristics?
     
  18. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    In all the Residents?
     
  19. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Just AMON:

    Cheers :D
     
  20. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    Marcos and Blackspear, I already did that and said the result in the reply #14 of this Topic.
     
  21. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    Did you already have some conclusion?
     
  22. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    I have sent another email requesting a follow up...

    Cheers :D
     
  23. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    I noticed about a 0,5 sec. slowdown with AMON enabled. Has someone else noticed a longer delay?
     
  24. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    I'm using the WinXP Pro SP2...
     
  25. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    To test again:
    - I uninstall the NOD32 and avast!.
    - Clean the disk and registry.
    - Install the NOD32 again.

    Result: still have the same delay... :(
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.