Doubt for Ram upgrade, Who can help me?

Discussion in 'hardware' started by Zapco_force, Jun 14, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Zapco_force

    Zapco_force Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2013
    Posts:
    84
    Location:
    Italy
    Good evening everyone, I need your help for an RAM memory upgrade.

    On my Pc (mainboard Asus P8H77-V and CPU Intel core i7-3770, IvyBridge) are installed two DDR3 Ram
    modules (4Gb+4Gb) type Corsair Vengeance CMZ8GX3M2A1600C9, and now I want to install also two
    Vengeance-Pro modules type CMY16GX3M2A1600C9R (8Gb+8Gb)...
    If the new modules have the same specifications (clock frequency, latence, XMP support) they can work
    well together, even though they are Vengeance-Pro type?

    Any of you tell me what are the differences between Vengeance "normal" and the latest Vengeance-Pro??

    Thanks.
     
  2. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,189
    Location:
    USA
    Yes they will work fine as long as you use the channels. Usually the slots are setup in a ABAB CDCD type configuration. For example your current Vengeance modules would need to be in slots labelled A and the new ones would need to be in the slots labelled B.

    Based on specs they should be identical. Only difference is probably in the design of the heatsink.
     
  3. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,518
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    So your MB has 4 DIMM slots.
     
  4. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,468
    Even if they were not the same specs it will still work fine.
    The only thing that would happen if they were different specs is that the MB would underclock the higher specs one to match the slower ones.
     
    Last edited: Jun 16, 2014
  5. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,695
    I'd go for identical RAM ... but if you must, then ok.
    Mrk
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.