Does Za Security Suite Deserve 5 stars???

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Legendkiller, Aug 4, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Legendkiller

    Legendkiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Posts:
    1,052
    I have seen many review sites and all of them hail Za security suite as the best available on the market.
    Well,we all know that their firewall is supreme but what about As and AVo_O?
    The AV used is of ca and AS is i think of Ca's pest-patrol...
    Are they really good enough to make ZASS the besto_O
    Companies like kaspersky,mcafee have advanced heuristics...
    So,do you still think ZA can keep successfully keep away viruses and spyware from pc without even letting them install.
    Can they detect and remove the worst menaceso_O o_O

    Do drop-in for your views...
     
  2. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,518
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    Just my .02. A resounding NO!
     
  3. unhappy_viewer

    unhappy_viewer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Posts:
    259
    ZA's Antispyware engine is developed in-house by Zone Labs and does not make use of CA's Pest Patrol Engine. The only thing that was licensed from CA was the VET engine.
     
  4. sosaiso

    sosaiso Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Posts:
    601
    It may not be the best, but it's firewall, IM Security, and HIPS protection is all I need to keep from being infected. And it runs lighter on the system [approx 25m of RAM usage for all components] than many other suites.

    Though, I'd have to say, the antivirus isn't as good as it should be.
     
  5. dah145

    dah145 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2006
    Posts:
    262
    Location:
    n/a
    Good at firewall and HIPS :thumb: , not too good on detection rates.:thumbd:
     
  6. Rilla927

    Rilla927 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    1,710
    Definitely not! They would if they would put a top AV in the Suite.

    I tried the ZAISS and I loved it except for one thing, the crap AV. I uninstalled it and put Nod32 & ZA Free on for now.

    Their AV would always flag the dll for Panda (online scan) as a virus.
     
  7. Legendkiller

    Legendkiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Posts:
    1,052
    thats true,i am using za-pro with PAV beta.
     
  8. Rilla927

    Rilla927 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    1,710
    How do you like it?

    I use Panda Pro Online Scanner when I have doubts. Does Panda have a quarentine? The reason I asked, I thought I read somewhere in the forum that it didn't.
     
  9. Antus

    Antus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Posts:
    76
    I would have second this motion on their antivirus......its middle of the run if at best!!! ZA needs to incorporate a quaity antivirus in their suite, like Nod 32 for example, than that would be considered top of the line:thumb:
     
  10. unhappy_viewer

    unhappy_viewer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Posts:
    259
    One's needs to look at he business logistics of things too. Who ever can strike up the best deals with each other wins. Obviously it seems CA managed to do a better job than other AV manufacturers. I am sure ZL considered the various options out there.
     
  11. Antus

    Antus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Posts:
    76
    unhappy view makes a very good point dollars and cents predicate what they will incorporate in their software. Just for the sake of discussion if ZA were able to bundle Nod32(for example) in their software the price would surely go up!!!....bottom line dollars and cents....
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.