Does ZA firewall do its job?

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by rOadToIS, Mar 10, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rOadToIS

    rOadToIS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Posts:
    168
    I heard some people criticizing ZoneAlarm's Free Firewall on its lack of protection.
    So, does it do its job? Does it provide solid protection: preventing hackers in public area/home?
     
  2. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,779
    Their criticism was probably directed at it's relative lack of outbound coverage compared to ZA Pro or perhaps Comodo or others. In terms of inbound protection, it is fine, and just as good as ZA Pro or any others.
     
  3. rOadToIS

    rOadToIS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Posts:
    168
    Thanks for the reply!:)
     
  4. act8192

    act8192 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    1,272
  5. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,910
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    I agree with act8192. As a long time user of ZA Free Firewall version 5.5.094.000, nothing gets out of my PC unless I say so. It's shut down so tight (programs need to ask for my permission every time) that it squeals like a pig if any outbound attempt is ever tried.

    To date, my oldie but goodie ZA has blocked 141,380 access attempts and 2,777 of those blocked intrusions have been highly rated. And while numbers might not mean anything, my WinXP machine continues to purr like a kitten. :) Thanks ZA!
     
  6. progress

    progress Guest

    But there is no HIPS component in ZA Free, am I right? I think Comodo or PC Tools give you more protection in this area :rolleyes:
     
  7. Tarq57

    Tarq57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Posts:
    966
    Location:
    Wellington NZ
    A firewall is a firewall. HIPS is something else. Some firewall manufacturers have included a HIPS (or HIPS-like) component in their firewall. Which technically, I suppose, makes it more suite-like.
     
  8. IAmAsean

    IAmAsean Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2
    Does ZA firewall do its job?

    It does. I was never a believer of these "leak tests" and I don't think that will change even in the far future. Leak tests do not make sense to me.

    Keeping the baddies off and out of your machine was never the job of a Firewall to begin with.

    What does a Firewall do?
    1. Packet Filtering 2. Application Gateway 3. Circuit-Level Gateway 4. Proxy Server.

    For malicious codes to land onto your machine must bypass, not the Firewall, but your other seucirty applications (HIPS, antivirus, antimalware and antispyware).

    There is the reason why many standalone Firewalls in the past have now bundled themselves with antivirus and antimalware modules and of course, HIPS.
     
  9. progress

    progress Guest

    Why doesn't ZA Free disable the XP firewall? :(
     
  10. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,910
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    ance, the old versions never disabled the XP firewall, you had to do it manually. I don't know about the newer versions but perhaps you want to check the ZA Free User Guides page for your particular version.
     
  11. Enigm

    Enigm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Posts:
    188
  12. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,723
    Location:
    localhost
    ... and here we are again... I think I predicted a FUD a year on ZA calling home... and magically here we are again... this time we have even the mossad... LOL

    Please update yourself, ZA calling home was a bug fixed LOOOONG time ago, discussed here too... more than once... o_O

    Fax
     
  13. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    989
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    has this thread has taken a turn into intolerance?
     
  14. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    1,785
    I am using the pro version with spyware turned off and it is runing very well here alongside Avira Premium . very happy so far. The latest release is improved over the previous .light and not so intrusive. Better then anything i have used .
     
  15. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    989
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    I have current licenses for both ZA-AV and ZA-Pro; running ZA-AV at this time.
     
  16. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    1,785
    How is ZAV running
     
  17. NNard

    NNard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Posts:
    42
    Location:
    New York
    I am currently running the latest version of ZA-AV along with SAS Pro on VISTA without any problems.

    NNard:D
     
  18. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,828
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    ZoneAlarm first introduced its OSFirewall, a "behavior-based strategy to block malware and spyware", in mid-2005. I run it enabled inside ZoneAlarmPro. It alerts to lots of suspicious activities, depending of course on the level a user sets it at. It's a strong add-on component, a "kernel-level firewall (that) monitors suspicious activity affecting the operating system, programs and files, and disables destructive programs". I'm glad it's there. :thumb:
     
  19. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    989
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    ZA-AV was upgraded recently to 8.0.298.000 and works very well for me.

    According to my saved install files, I have upgraded ZAAV several times now, although I know there were some prior to these that I did not retain:

    08/27/2008 zaAvSetup_80_015_000_en.exe
    10/16/2008 zaAvSetup_80_020_000_en.exe
    11/06/2008 zaAvSetup_80_059_000_en.exe
    02/23/2009 zaAvSetup_80_298_000_en.exe
     
  20. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,828
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    I keep the Anti-spyware component turned off too. I think that avast! is adequate enough versus spyware in real-time. Every now and then I update the defs and run a scan, but it's essentially a feature I keep turned off. :)
     
  21. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    989
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    I run the stuff listed here, and now and again run SAS, MBAM, HJT, and GMER, but have never found anything other than a false positive running any Anti-Spyware scanner.
     
  22. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,828
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    This is a pretty cool feature...
     

    Attached Files:

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.