Does your ISP give free security software?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Defcon, Feb 5, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Defcon

    Defcon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Posts:
    332
    And if so, which one?

    I have Comcast and can get McAfee suite. Now this is going to be a controversial opinion on these forums, but I want to know why any normal user (and not power users who want to tweak everything) should ever pay for security. Its based on these observations -

    1. most Isp's give free software
    2. The free software is usually rebranded version of a major vendor
    3. Security is less about the software and more about better practices. IMO in 99% of cases, any of the major av suites will do just fine. The times when they dont are quite likely to be 0-day.
    4. All the talk of heavy/light etc in the end is about a few %cpu which is not a factor for most people.

    I know I have a hard time recommending paid security to my non-geeky friends. I will set up a freeware only solution for them happily, but just as likely will ask then to install McAfee/Aol suite and just forget about it.
     
  2. EricEgan

    EricEgan Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    Posts:
    22
    Me being a UK AOL user used to get AOL Anti-Spyware free and a very very old Free Version of McAfee Firewall.

    Now only the firewall is available and AOL asks for a £2.49 per month subscription to it's Security Suite.

    I'm not a fan of my ISP so sticking with my own choices as far as security is concerned.
     
  3. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    comcast -McAfee suite Free and still will not use it.Well no longer use virus pgms anyways.
     
  4. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    I also get mcafee free for one year with my ISP

    I'm waiting for them to get drweb avdesk, but honestly I still think I would still use the normal windows version, its notfrrr
    free but it is still mighty cheap in comparison with other av prices.
     
  5. gerardwil

    gerardwil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Posts:
    4,748
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    F-secure Internet Security but I don't use it.

    Gerard
     
  6. Bunkhouse Buck

    Bunkhouse Buck Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Posts:
    1,056
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Cox offers for free the Authentium Security Suite, but they have signed an agreement with McAfee to offer their suite to customers in early 2008.

    I would not use either brand, so it makes no difference to me.
     
  7. larryb52

    larryb52 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Posts:
    1,126
    I'm with comcast & McAfee but no I use either F-Secure or Eset's suite...
     
  8. dan_maran

    dan_maran Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Posts:
    1,053
    Location:
    Stamford, CT
    Also with Comcast(Comcrap) and I don't use the supplied AV either.
    To bloated, most users (read normal users) don't care that they are offered a free solution from their ISP.
    Why? Because they have something preloaded onto the box already and do not think twice about it. Even when it is expired and leaving them unprotected. Normal users are often under a false sense of security in this area thinking "I bought it with this AV in place and that has to be good enough."

    My "fix" for this is to make any Security vendor who ships preloaded security software on the computer offer a lifetime license with the purchase of the unit, then we would not have to worry as much about the status of the security software. Sure security vendors will take a hit, but more than likely the big 3 can handle it.

    Or ship more PC's with a 'nix variant. :)
     
  9. deanmartin

    deanmartin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Posts:
    231
    Location:
    USA/KY
    TimeWarner (Road runner) They have CA Internet Security Suite. Which i do not use.
     
  10. thehudd

    thehudd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Posts:
    56
    Mediacom offers CA Internet Security Suite. I have not taken them up on their offer.
     
  11. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,048
    Both services I use offer free security software, which I would never use.
     
  12. kinwolf

    kinwolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2006
    Posts:
    271
    The 3 majors ISP here(Videotron, Bell, Telus) do not offer security suite for free. Quite the contrary, if you take their suite(which is made by RadialPoint), they charge you an extra 6$ per month!

    Strangely enough, my bank gives a better deal by offering 30% off Mcafee.
     
  13. computer geek

    computer geek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Posts:
    776
    i'm with vigin media (ntl) and am i right in saying it does not offer anything?
     
  14. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
  15. computer geek

    computer geek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Posts:
    776
    thanks for the info, but i would rather stick with my avatar. ;)
     
  16. MikeNAS

    MikeNAS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2006
    Posts:
    697
    Location:
    FiNLAND
    Simply answer is no. If l like I can pay 3,00 eur/month to use Custom F-Secure AV (3x machines) or 6,50 eur eur/month to use Custom F-Secure IS (3x machines).

    In Finland not a single vendor gives anything for a free. Usually they have some monthly fees to get custom F-Secure AV/IS.
     
  17. Firebytes

    Firebytes Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Posts:
    903
    I have Cox Communications also and while I appreciate their effort to offer free security to their users I don't like either brand and will not use them either. Also, to sign up for the Authentium Suite you have to give them (Authentium) your Cox account information which I have no desire to do.
     
  18. RobZee

    RobZee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Posts:
    290
    Location:
    Texas
    At the current time, ATT Yahoo offers Norton Internet Security combo (FW, AV, AntiSpyware).

    Rob
     
  19. jm0307

    jm0307 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Posts:
    77

    My UK based ISP offers McAfee Security for the duration of service provision, though I do not use it.
     
  20. computer geek

    computer geek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Posts:
    776
    which ISP, may i inquire?
     
  21. jm0307

    jm0307 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Posts:
    77
    See PM
     
  22. Coolio10

    Coolio10 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    Posts:
    1,124
    Same with Rogers Yahoo. 2007 Norton IS with an additional branding shell/program.

    I would use it if it was 2008 version.
     
  23. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    You are correct; its seems they changed it.
     
  24. Eagle Creek

    Eagle Creek Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Posts:
    734
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I'm using XS4ALL (Dutch) and it's giving me the full McAfee Internet Security.
    I don't use it though.
     
  25. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    My last one was offering BitDefender for free, current one doesn't offer anything, they just recommend using avast!, AVG or AntiVir.
    Third ISP in my country offers F-Secure and our main educational ISP offers Norman i think. Not sure for others either.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.