Does your ISP do virus filtering?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by spy1, Apr 3, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. spy1

    spy1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Posts:
    3,139
    Location:
    Clover, SC
    Mine (Comporium) does - and a pretty good job of it, actually. (That's the reason I have only one AV program on the computer itself). Pete
     

    Attached Files:

  2. spy1

    spy1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Posts:
    3,139
    Location:
    Clover, SC
    They were all W32/Netsky.p@MM and the detection's were by McAfee. Pete
     
  3. root

    root Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Posts:
    1,723
    Location:
    Missouri, USA
    My ISP is a very small outfit in rural Missouri, yet he has the best AV protection that can be offered. KAV. :D :D :D

    I never get a chance to see those squiggly little worms or anything else really. Just get emails.

    BTW How you doing buddy?
     
  4. dangitall

    dangitall Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2004
    Posts:
    430
    Location:
    New Hamster, USA
    I've almost got to assume that the answer is 'yes' as I've yet to receive an infected email ... but I'll be contacting them later to verify this now that the question has been raised.
     
  5. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    My isp is pioneer, A subsidiary of pioneer telephone. They do scan their pop3 mail with mcafee. ;)
     
  6. gerardwil

    gerardwil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Posts:
    4,748
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    My ISP offers it as an option. The first year €5 per mailbox, after thet €20 per mailbox. I dont use it.
    They also offering Spamfilters for free.

    Greetings,

    Gerard
     
  7. dvk01

    dvk01 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Posts:
    3,131
    Location:
    Loughton, Essex. UK
    I have a couple of email addresses taht are virus filtered.

    one uses NAV and the other uses mcaffee

    I frequently have emails sent to both addresses taht still have infected contents get through, but NOD detects and stops them

    less gets through the NAV one than the mcaffee one though, but any ISP server level protection is only as good as how often the isp updates and many are not very quick at updating,
     
  8. sig

    sig Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    716
    My dial up ISP does have virus filtering of email as a free option. My broadband ISP (Comcast) doesn't. It should IMO.
     
  9. bob_man_uk

    bob_man_uk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2004
    Posts:
    91
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    mine does, I use ZEN internet in the uk, they only do it for leased lines tho (businesses only) but then again we have an AV on our gateway server (Linux) and on our mail server both of which face the internet directley, we also use desktop scanners should anything slip past, which it invariably does.
     
  10. steve1955

    steve1955 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Posts:
    1,384
    Location:
    Sunny(in my dreams)Manchester,England
    Hi
    Bob according to their web site zen do provide anti-virus filtering for home users(broadband),we have not long ago had our exchange activated,and as these are a locally based ISP they are at the top of my list of choices I'm going to contact them tommorow to get confirmation if the do or don't
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.