Does your browser performance decrease over time?

Discussion in 'polls' started by jo3blac1, Nov 24, 2012.

?

Do you experiance browser slow down after several weeks of usage?

  1. My browser performance is always the same

    59 vote(s)
    85.5%
  2. My browser performance goes down after several months

    10 vote(s)
    14.5%
  1. luciddream

    luciddream Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Posts:
    2,545
    My entire system, as a whole decreases over time after a freshly installed OS. A year later or so things just aren't quite as snappy. I would think this to be inevitable and applied to everyone. It's not like it gets slow by any means, but not quite as snappy as the day I did the format.

    I reformat my box every 2 years for this reason. And after I'm done throwing everything back on it, I can definitely notice it's snappier.
     
  2. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,491
    Hahahahaha 2 years? That's still too much. :D
     
  3. nikanthpromod

    nikanthpromod Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Posts:
    1,369
    Location:
    India
  4. Sir paranoids

    Sir paranoids Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2012
    Posts:
    101
    nope,cus i format my os once per month for security,and i still run off of fat32 seeing as its more secure then ntfs vs some kinds of attacks and i can work it in dos if needed.
    got hacked bad at one point,it had the side affect of getting me in shape on the networking~security topic :D
     
  5. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,491
    I usually format like once every 2-4 months depending on how i feel . . . :rolleyes:
     
  6. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    5,362
    Location:
    Milan and Seoul
    Many years ago there was a definite decrease in speed partly due to my overall ignorance in maintaining a system in tiptop condition. Nowadays it is true given the fact that I restore an image no matter what after 6 months my main computer performance is the same all the time.

    I do have however a notebook with XP Home edition which I haven't restored an image for more than 2 years and its performance is still unchanged. IMO it depends a lot on whether one installs many programs all the time, and how one uninstalls them, running virtualized or sandboxed minimizes changes to the system, regular defragmentation also helps especially with XP (Vista doesn't seem to need defrag so much).
     
  7. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,738
    Unlike my Firefox experience, Chrome works almost just as fast with many extensions installed.
     
  8. jo3blac1

    jo3blac1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2012
    Posts:
    739
    Location:
    U.S.
    I had the opposite experience witch chrome.
     
  9. safeguy

    safeguy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Posts:
    1,794
    No.

    I use few extensions. I also use Private Browsing or Incognito modes in my browsers most of the time. If not, I manually clean the history, cache, etc.

    Of course, this is when things are not done in a sandbox or LV environment.
     
  10. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,985
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    I don't feel any difference, voted "always the same".

    Bo
     
  11. encus

    encus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Posts:
    535
    Pretty much the same all the time.
    A little tips for Firefox user (which I'm currently using right now) : clear all browsing history when Firefox closes.

    Cheers.
     
  12. sweater

    sweater Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,678
    Location:
    Philippines, the Political Dynasty Capital of the
    I'm not really sure if my browser performance decreases over time or not. But one thing for sure, I think our hardware performances are more important than anything else coz it is most of the time has direct affect to the whole performances of the pc.
     
  13. noone_particular

    noone_particular Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Posts:
    3,798
    I haven't noticed any given version of a browser slowing over time. That said, it does seem like it gets slower every time they update them.
     
  14. On Linux, no.

    On Windows, startup times do seem to slow down if the browser cache gets too big. Not sure why, maybe NTFS makes it more expensive to enumerate lots of files, or something...
     
  15. jo3blac1

    jo3blac1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2012
    Posts:
    739
    Location:
    U.S.
    Yup on my laptop FF 2.0 used to work perfectly fine and now FF17 crashes windows due to their new CPU/RAM requirements.
     
  16. If it actually crashes Windows, try disabling hardware acceleration. Hard crashes usually indicate driver issues - in this case your graphics driver may not be capable of handling the hardware acceleration, or something along those lines.
     
  17. jo3blac1

    jo3blac1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2012
    Posts:
    739
    Location:
    U.S.
    thanks for the tip. i will try it. still, I think FF should have 2 cycle releases. one for older hardware with emphasis on low mem/CPU usage and other with emphasis on what's newest and greatest.
     
  18. Mman79

    Mman79 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Posts:
    2,016
    Location:
    North America
    Eventually yes. However, Chrome does not at all seem to like being "cleaned" by CCleaner. Chrome is at its happiest when you've not touched browsing history, cookies and such for weeks. That's how it at least feels for me, but that's not how I like to deal with my browsing.
     
  19. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,491
    So true!
    Everytime a cleaner tries to clean something of Chrome it messes up the whole history cache . . . I learned the hard way. :D
     
  20. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    same here.
    pretty convenient because it's done automatically .
    i checked all the boxes so everything gets auto-erased on exit.

    i aslo use Bleachbit to make extra sure everything is gone.
     
  21. new2security

    new2security Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Posts:
    517
    Not sure if it's the browser, decent hardware (at least for me : i3 @3.5 Ghz, 8 Gb RAM, no ssd) or great ISP that does it but my browsing experience is simply excellent. My ISP ping is 8 milliseconds and that adds up well to the speedy experience.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.