Does TrueImage 7.0 support SATA drives?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by garycahn, Jul 31, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. garycahn

    garycahn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Posts:
    3
    I'm using TI 7.0 and with a SATA hardrive, and TI doesn't recognize the drive. Is the problem that SATA isn't supported?

    Gary Cahn
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    TI 7 is pretty old. Does it have a "Safe Mode" version? If it does, have you tried it?

    Does it make a difference if your SATA controller is set to "Compatible" or "IDE" mode in the BIOS (if you have those settings)?
     
  3. garycahn

    garycahn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Posts:
    3
    I have an option called "Safe Loader" which pertains to booting off an Acronis CD. Is that what you mean by "Safe Mode"?

    Gary
     
  4. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    It may be. The earliest version of TI I have is 9, build 3,677 so I've never used TI 7. Does it say anything in the manual about a "Safe mode" version?

    Later versions of TI boot to a menu that displays options to load the Full (Linux-based) version of TI or the Safe (Dos-based) version. You select the version you want from the menu and it runs it.
     
  5. rodnh

    rodnh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2006
    Posts:
    46
    Hi Mudcrab,

    I use TI-7 (final build) regularly - but not with SATA. When you first make the recovery media you are given a choice to make it in either the safe mode or the full mode. The full mode is the default and is indicated as being recommmended. Once made, if you want the other option, you have to go through the process again, select the other option and make the media again to suit. Which ever one you select, you will not get a way to select the other one during bootup from the media - there is no menu. I don't know about when you use the startup recovery manager (SRM) as I have never installed that particular feature, preferring to avoid it (and the SZ) altogether. I do not recall ever seeing the term "safe loader" relative to TI-7. Perhaps that comes up when using the SRM.

    Rod
     
  6. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Rod,

    Thanks for the info.

    In this case, I would recommend that garycahn create a new cd that contains the Safe Mode version and give it a try.
     
  7. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello garycahn,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please make sure you use the latest build (63:cool: of Acronis True Image 7. To get access to updates you should first register your software. Don't forget to recreate Acronis Bootable Rescue Media after updating.

    Please also try booting with "acpi=off noapic" parameter as it is described in Acronis Help Post.

    Note that you should press F11 button when the "Starting Acronis Loader..." message appears and not when the selection screen appears.

    Please also try the workaround described by MudCrab (setting SATA controller to Legacy mode in BIOS).

    Please be aware that we do not guarantee compatibility of old versions of the product with newer hardware.

    We recommend you to download and install the free trial version of Acronis True Image 10.0 Home to see how the software works on your computer. With the trial version of the product, you will be able to fully use the product for a period of 15 days. The only limitation of the trial version is that only restore function of the bootable media is available.

    You can find the detailed instructions on how to use Acronis True Image 10.0 Home in the respective User's Guide.

    Please note that since you own the previous version of the program you can purchase Acronis True Image 10.0 Home at a discounted rate. Please visit Acronis online store to purchase the upgrade.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
  8. foghorne

    foghorne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Posts:
    1,389
    Location:
    Leeds, Great Britain
    I would doubt it. I was still having SATA2 problems with b3633 of TI 9.

    The problems dissappeared for me on subsequent builds.

    As MudCrab suggests you may have some luck if you can force it to behave as a legacy interface.

    F.
     
  9. garycahn

    garycahn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Posts:
    3
    Mudcrab's suggestion of trying a setting of "Compatible" or "IDE" got me looking in the BIOS. Sure enough, he was correct. They don't call it IDE mode. They call it Legacy mode, but I guess it's the same thing. Once I changed it to Legacy mode, I was able to get TI 7 to work with my SATA drives.

    Many thanks to all of you who offered suggestions, especially Mudcrab.

    Gary Cahn
     
  10. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Gary,

    You're welcome. I'm glad you got it to work.

    There really are no standards when it comes to what BIOS makers decide to call certain features.

    When you're not using TI, you may want to set the setting back to what it was. Sometimes performance may be affected in Legacy/IDE mode (Windows may access the drive using different drivers, for example).
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.