Does TI11 run on a Quad-core processor ?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by BeachNut, May 3, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. BeachNut

    BeachNut Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    Just wondering, because it doesn't seem to work on mine. o_O
     
  2. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    I'll check, but I can tell you Workstation 9.1 does as do Echo products, so I would expect TI 11 to, even if it can't make use of quad core advantage.

    When you say it doesn't work, what does or does not happen?

    Does it fail at installation?

    Does it open the GUI, but crashes?

    Just not run a schedule?

    Which build of TI 11 are you using?

    Colin
     
  3. Haeckli

    Haeckli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    Posts:
    18
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Hi BeachNut,

    you are not alone... Go and read this thread and if interested you can find a temporary fix here.

    Greetz
    Haeckli

     
  4. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    Well my system here is dual core, with no problems, the system at work is quad core, with the corporate versions installed - the basis for my previous statment.
     
  5. BeachNut

    BeachNut Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    I'll take that as a no then (without applying the temporary fix).
    Thanks.
     
  6. CorkyG

    CorkyG Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Posts:
    126
    Location:
    Tucson, Arizona
    I regularly run T-11's Rescue CD on my quad core machine (Q6600). Runs perfectly, but - what do is CLONE the drives regularly. I never use backup/restore functions. For me they are a waste of time. My choice is to have two duplicate drives, and then alternate them every week. So, I clone the duty drive to the reserve drive and then switch them so they swap roles.

    So, my concise answer is, the T-11 Rescue Media works perfectly on a quad system for cloning.
     
  7. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    The Rescue Media is always the safer way to use TI, even if it may be a bit slower than using TI from within Windows.
     
  8. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    I'm not so sure the quad-processor is really at the crux of run-of-won't-run. IMO, the larger issue is the motherboard and its chipset.
     
  9. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    I'm not sure how the OP has reached his/her conclusion, however, if any one here is to be able to really assist the OP (including Acronis), more information is required.

    Stating that 'it doesn't work' and then have other posters agreeing, doesn't further anyone in getting it to work or finding the cause of the problem - it may well be that the other posters problems have a different cause, which manifests itself in the same manner, especially when the Acronis error message system lacks verbiosity.
     
  10. KCDoug

    KCDoug Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Posts:
    28
    I concur w/Bodgy - more specific info is need, from OS to more about the nature of the problem/failure.

    FWIW, I'm running an over clocked intel quad processor & Vista x64. As far as I can tell, ATI 11 is working - though I haven't gone all the way with an actual restore.
     
  11. Johnan

    Johnan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2007
    Posts:
    11
    Works OK on my m/c, both backup and bare metal restore. (Intel Q6600. Asus P5K-E. ICH9. XP Pro SP2) In fact overall I've found TI-10 and 11 to be reliable on a variety of machines back to a lowly Celeron 2.3 in a nine year old HP laptop. I run only full backups; no differentials or incrementals. There are a host of minor annoyances with the program. For example: the scheduler is fickle; verification frequently throws out corrupt file alerts which as far as I can tell are false positives; job progress bars are hopelessly out of sync. with actual job progress; verification process checks every backup in the defined backup location not just the current backup-huge time waster; etc. etc. I have TI-10 running on two m/c and TI-11 running on two m/c. Every six months I wipe the HDDs and restore the original backup of the OS. Have yet to experience a failure. If Acronis could only resolve the "annoyances" we would have a great backup software.
     
  12. BeachNut

    BeachNut Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    The OP would like to clarify that the problem is TI hangs during back-up as described in the thread link above. It works fine if I just want to create an image of my system, but will hang if I try to back-up my data files. The only time it worked is on a test to backup a selection of 5 or so files of insignificant size. Give it something practical to backup and it hangs at 20% complete. Drivers all updated too. Build 8053. XP Home. Disappointed.
     
  13. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    Does it hang at a particular folder or is it random?

    Does this folder have large picture images or MP3 files in it?

    Have you - a) Tried running Defrag - although you shouldn't need to, it may be it has come across a large file that is split into so many sectors it's causing TI to hang and ,

    b) run checkdisk /r (requires a reboot), just in case some sector pointers are causing a problem.

    I ask, because I suspect TI uses a different method for files and folders backup to that used by imaging.

    Are any of these folders either compressed, or made private?

    Is VSS running on your system (I'm assume XP home has this feature).

    Oh yes, do files and folders backup work from the Rescue CD?

    Colin
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.