Does TI11 backup my SQL Server database?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Gerd, Jul 31, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Gerd

    Gerd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Posts:
    9
    On a Vista Business 32 notebook I have a Microsoft POS application running that uses SQL Server 2005 Express to store the POS data.

    When I do my nightly backup using TI11 8101 I want to ensure that the SQL databases are part of the backup.

    My question is related to the snapshot that TI takes. Does it automatically "suspend" the sql server to take the snapshot and thus, includes the databases in the backup, or would i have to either stop the sql server service or pause it?
     
  2. Wandering2

    Wandering2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Posts:
    110
    Acronis, if you are referring to taking a disk image rather than a data backup, will simply make a copy of everything on the partition you select, and couldn't care less what it is. Using Windows shadow copy facility, it will be able to take images of all files, whether in use or not.

    When you restore, the disk will be essentially the same as it was when you made the image.

    Good luck
     
  3. Gerd

    Gerd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Posts:
    9
    Thanks for your reply.

    I should have mentioned that i was taking an image backup.
     
  4. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.