Does this look familiar?

Discussion in 'FirstDefense-ISR Forum' started by KaneComputing, Dec 11, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. PoetWarrior

    PoetWarrior Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2007
    Posts:
    341
    Good to know and thanks for the info. I'll be eagerly awaiting for GPT support. :thumb:
     
  2. billwv

    billwv Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Posts:
    34
    Hi All,

    I am currently using RollBack 9.1 on an XP SP3 system.

    In looking for a replacement I have been reading this forum and the original FD-ISR forums.

    I am very impressed with the re-released InstantRecovery. I have one question for now:

    Currently I have for disk imaging: IFW, IFD, IFL. If I had IR installed and then did a disk image (cold--only used sectors) with IFL do I get all the IR Snapshots or just the active one?

    In other words, if I restored that image would I have IR fully functional with all the Snapshots?

    What about a hot image with IFW from within windows in the primary SS?

    In each case assume Primary SS was active or the last active SS.

    Question #2 (sorry, I said only one) are IR copies sector based or file based?

    I am really excited about this software, but first want to understand it as best I can. I really like the archive to external HDD feature.

    Thanks,

    Bill
     
  3. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,228
    Location:
    US
    If you image your c:drive you will get the ENTIRE c:drive which will include all snapshots. If you restore the image, you get the entire c:drive back, all snapshots.

    InstantRestore is strictly file based, not sector.

    Enjoy,
    Acadia
     
  4. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    9,620
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    Excellent and many thanks.

    Personally i choose increased performance over FD archive space anyday.

    EASTER
     
  5. controler

    controler Guest

    I also missed the bandwagon.

    But since we are talking about shadowdefender, First defense, and this new program by a well knon company that has and will be around for many years.

    Can I ask a question?

    Does anyone here use RestoreIT by Farstone here and if so what are your thoughts?

    As some of you old timers know I have used shadowdefender, Microsofts user kit, sandboxie ect way in the past. Heck I have pretty much used everything except for Leapfrogs first defense.

    I can tell you first hand Farstone's support is awesome too.
     
  6. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Controler another thread in the general backup forum would be more appropriate. This thread and this subforum is not the place for a discussion on RestoreIT

    Thanks,

    Pete
     
  7. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    9,620
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    +1

    The new InstantRecovery is seated itself nicely right where we can focus specifically on only it.

    EASTER
     
  8. controler

    controler Guest

    Hello old friend EASTER

    I agree and no other products should be included.
     
  9. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Folks

    There is absolutely nothing wrong with asking if another product works with IR, and if there are problems running them together.

    It is discussions or questions that solely about another product that take it off topic. Hope this clears things up.

    Pete
     
  10. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    9,620
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    Perfectly. And thanks Pete. This is like a long awaited family reunion.

    Welcome FD-IR!!!!

    Hello controller my long missed bud. Great to see you right in the middle of this mix again after such an extended absence.

    Did you ever dream we would possibly ever see this day again? A save from extinction!
     
  11. controler

    controler Guest

    Peter

    so you are running AX64 alongside InstantRecovery then?

    I guess I should have worded my post different by asking if anyone was using
    InstantRecovery along side RestoreIT..

    It's ok.. I will start a new thread... but in what section?

    Bruce
     
  12. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    17,294
    Location:
    UK
    Can I ask approx how long the making of secondary took after install for those who are running it ? Mine seems to be taking quite a long time, it's on course for over an hour (Win 7 64bit)

    What sort of copy speed are you getting?

    Did you turn off system restore ? (as was recommended for FD-ISR)

    As you may have worked out I gave in and bought a license :D
     
  13. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Yes, I am. I will start a new thread here relating my experiences and thoughts about it. Short form, yes it is working with a few buts. Stay tuned.
     
  14. controler

    controler Guest

    Warning!!!!

    In case this was not mentioned in this thread or some of you may have missed it on their site, there is a small issue with anyone running AppGuard you might want to look at. Has to do with trying to boot back to an archive shot and windows not booting along with remedy

    http://www.raxco.com/support


    Was looking over the program on their site and it looks good.
    Looks like for a 10 gig snapshot you need an extra 20 gig on your hard drive.

    EASTER

    BAck in the day weren't you using a antiexecutable along with First Defense?

    Bruce
     
  15. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590

    Er, what is sytem restore :) Stapp seriously when I get a new machine, system restore is the first thing that goes. Never use it. And now with IR, certainly would never use it.

    Pete
     
  16. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Hi Controler

    Check out the whole thread. That Appguard issue has already been mentioned.

    If you have 10g on your drive you really only need an extra 10g. The 20g comes in if you use the freeze option. What I do is just have a very stripped down secondary to boot into to restore archives, which can be on another drive, so it much smaller.

    So much depends on how you use IR.

    Also other than the Appguard conflict, I've found no other conflicts using OA,NVT's ERP, Appguard, SBIE, and ESET AV.

    Pete
     
  17. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,228
    Location:
    US
    First: yes, isn't precious to have all the "old" folks back with the old reincarnated FDISR. :-*

    Stapp: yes, InstantRestore, as did FDISR, has Windows System Restore not being saved by default under the Tasks tab. I kept it that way but I always excluded the things that Pandlouk recommended. Those included ShadowCopy, Hibernate file, and paging file (I will have to search for that and edit this post). Excluding those really do seem to work.

    controler's advice: Yes, beware of Appguard, that excellent program. Read the faq at Raxco. It is because of me that it was added to the faq but it was really Peter who figured out what the problem was, reported it to Raxco and saved them a ton of work. :cool:

    Acadia

    EDIT: okay, go here https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=292736&highlight=hibernate , look at post number 7.
    look for these exclusions:
    shadow copies= *{3808876b-c176-4e48-b7ae-04046e6cc752}
    pagefile= pagefile.sys
    hibernate file= hiberfil.sys


    At least this has always worked for me for several years with both FD and now recently with IR (that is on a Win7 system).
     
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2014
  18. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    17,294
    Location:
    UK
    I asked about system restore because mine is turned off and I wasn't sure if excluding shadow copies was necessary if I had done that.

    When I made secondary it took 70 minutes.

    I then added a text file with one word in it to the desktop on primary.

    I copy/updated it to secondary and it took over 4 minutes. The indexing pauses a couple of times.

    I shall do the exclusions and see if it makes a difference before I do my archive.
     
  19. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    17,294
    Location:
    UK
    Well I did the exclusions and then deleted a text file and did a copy/update of primary to secondary.

    it took 6 minutes this time:'(

    I think something may not be as it should be.

    When I look in the logs I see loads of these in the logs..

    File Time mismatch

    File Size mismatch

    Anyone else see these?
     
  20. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,228
    Location:
    US
    Sorry about that, stapp, I've never seen those ever. Good luck. :doubt:

    Acadia

    EDIT: Oops, sorry stapp, I thought you meant error messages.
     
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2014
  21. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Yep. Every place IR replaces a file, it's the last entry. Kind of makes sense. IR is probably telling you that it was either a size difference or a time difference that helped it decide to replace the file. If the two files of the same name have the exact same size or time stamp they probably the same file,

    Pete
     
  22. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    17,294
    Location:
    UK
    Thanks.

    I may contact Raxco after the weekend as my copy/update is so slow and pauses during the indexing operation.
     
  23. msLadyWednesday

    msLadyWednesday Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1
    I speak for msLadyWednesday as a first time forum communicator, although as I lack protocol.
    As a reader to the voicing of Wilders, Easter, I believe you are subtle. Previous postings about " FirstDefense-ISR, a Raxco production," made a believer of my self, a purchase of FirstDefense-ISR, became easier choice to make and I made it so.
    For my self, FirstDefense-ISR, was not available for usage at this time.
    The question, "Is it imaginable at sometime in the near distant future, a change is going to be for a Windows 8 GPT disk?"
    It is true, this first time is not 25 words or less and I imagine many are busy, so I thank you, all, for your reading time. Stay safe.

    May, Heaven and earth look upon you, Always with a smile.

    P.P.S Thank you Ms.S. as a person, within the People of Raxco, to whom also made a believer out of me.
     
  24. chrome_sturmen

    chrome_sturmen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Posts:
    866
    Location:
    Sverige
    wot? o_O
    did anyone understand a word she just said? o_O o_O

     
  25. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    9,620
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    I'm not too sure the OP is sure.

    But anyway Your Welcome OP and Welcome to the Forums.

    If you indeed found FD-ISR much to your satisfaction before, you will most definitely enjoy RAXCO's newest introduction in the form of FD Instant Recovery.

    Per the powers that be at Raxco's internal labs it's been mentioned that a GPT disk compatible version is actively in the plans.

    Regards EASTER
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.