Does Re-using My Laptop Destroy Anonymity?

Discussion in 'privacy general' started by geekprophet, Dec 21, 2020.

1. geekprophet

geekprophet Registered Member

I've been reading about how to establish total anonymity on the Internet. I've seen people recommend that instead of just booting my laptop from a Tails USB stick, I should buy another whole laptop (usually used) to get started, one that I've never used before. Why is that? If I boot from a USB drive using something like Tails, is there still information exposed by my laptop that could potentially be traced back to me?

2. zapjb

zapjb Registered Member

You could always take out the HDD/SSD instead of buying a new laptop. But that's pretty much to thwart nation state hacking imho. And imho if your country finds out you're that cautious they might start investigating you. Fun isn't it?

3. geekprophet

If a nation state wants me, they'll get me. But my desire to thwart big tech has been gradually building since I watched The Social Dilemma, and it came to a head when I read that Facebook will require Oculus Quest 2 users to have FB accounts, and may ban users (thereby bricking their devices) for arbitrary reasons and perceived infractions, with no appeal possible. Call me a rebel, but if I spend $400 on a device, I kinda think it belongs to me, not to the remote auditors at Facebook.

Anyway, assuming you replace the hard drive, is there anything else (CPU serial number, etc.) that Tails or another privacy- focused OS might leak that would identify the user?

4. xxJackxx

xxJackxx Registered Member

Every device in your PC has a serial number. Though it is doubtful that they can be retrieved with a browser, they could probably be leaked with any installed software.

5. zapjb

zapjb Registered Member

Btw I didn't say replace the HD. I said remove the HD & meant it's to be left empty.

6. Palancar

Palancar Registered Member