Does LNS crash with Microsoft ISA Server

Discussion in 'LnS English Forum' started by shaunwang, Nov 18, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. shaunwang

    shaunwang Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Posts:
    94
    Hi,

    I was wondering whether does LNS crash with Microsoft ISA Server. The fact I am asking this because recently I unable to understand why is there a bluescreen appearing whenever I logon on to a network domain, and then having Microsoft ISA Server and LNS installed.

    I currently running Window Vista Ultimate SP1. So far without LNS installed no bluescreen but I fee unsafe.. and without Microsoft ISA Server I cannot surf the internet or logon to the network domain.
     
  2. Frederic

    Frederic LnS Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    4,354
    Location:
    France
    Hi,

    Please send to lnssupport@soft4ever.com one of the minidump files created when a BSOD occurred. These files are in c:\windows\minidump.
    Also please confirm which version you were using (2.06 or 2.06p3, and I assume win32).

    Thanks,

    Frederic
     
  3. shaunwang

    shaunwang Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Posts:
    94
    hi Frederic,

    I know this is pretty long ago, but I already uninstalled looknstop on that laptop, this time round I will try it again... There were no minidumps created because I was using shadow defender so that nothing was modify during that session of bluescreen or other type of external threats.

    Hopefully I can get you a minidump for you to check this out btw

    last version I tested on this was 2.06p2

    I will be using 2.06p3 if all goes well it will be great
     
  4. Frederic

    Frederic LnS Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    4,354
    Location:
    France
    You can still send minidump to lnssupport@soft4ever.com.
    It will be better if you get the crash and minudump with the 2.06p3 version.

    Regards,

    Frederic
     
  5. shaunwang

    shaunwang Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Posts:
    94
    :( the minidump file was not created...

    I see the bluescreen, but no done file was created

    I currently using vista sp1 and microsoft isa server. using the latest 2.06p3

    I am pretty sure its got to do with drivers because when during booting up to my desktop... all the application loaded correctly and last loaded was LooknStop. Then a bluescreen appeared.

    So is there anyway to generate for you a dump file ? because when I uninstall looknstop from that computer, everything went normal
     
    Last edited: Apr 21, 2009
  6. Frederic

    Frederic LnS Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    4,354
    Location:
    France
    Did you check the Startup and Recovery settings are set properly, to be sure Minidumps are enabled ?
    If you open the Windows Error Report utility, do you see the crash event there ? If you do, then some crash details should be available from there (and hopefully the minidump file itself).

    Frederic
     
  7. shaunwang

    shaunwang Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Posts:
    94
    There's no crash events

    This is because the bluescreen did not complete creating a minidump files. when the bluescreen appears, I waited about 5 minutes no response to creating a dump file.
     
  8. shaunwang

    shaunwang Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Posts:
    94
    Strange !!!

    I tried something....

    I uninstall avast , install eset and looknstop, there's no bluescreen involved wow!

    I tested 3 times restarting / shutting down no bluescreen...
     
  9. Frederic

    Frederic LnS Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    4,354
    Location:
    France
    So, it's a conflict with this combination of tools. Probably on the TDI/Application Filtering side.

    When you said "I waited about 5 minutes no response to creating a dump file.", do you mean you waited after Windows restarted ?

    Frederic
     
  10. shaunwang

    shaunwang Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Posts:
    94
    Well I did change settings to make sure that I get to see the bluescreen, so I disable the automaticall restart in the startup and recovery. ( I can manually start the system again )

    The correct way is that it should generate a dump file but it did not create it hangs at initializing creating a dump..... this message stood forever.

    Vista is kinda buggy I wonder why is it not creating a dumpfile after a crash :( but now that the combination of tools is solve I just a contented person using it now.


    So far tested
    ===============
    1. attempt
    install eset nod32 then looknstop (BSOD occurred)

    2. attempt
    install avast then looknstop (BSOD occured)

    3. attempt
    install looknstop then avast (BSOD occured)

    4. attempt
    install looknstop then eset nod32 ( bingo nothing came out so far )

    ** each attempt I will use revouninstaller to uninstall these application so that registry will be kept clean of these installers records and other registry datas.

    Therefore in the future version of looknstop I will continue to use the 4 attempt as it works so far now. ( till the day I no longer need to use ISA ). Everything is fine at home but once in the place where I need Microsoft ISA to access the domain the BOSD occurs.
     
    Last edited: Apr 22, 2009
  11. Frederic

    Frederic LnS Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    4,354
    Location:
    France
    When the BSOD is on screen, I don't think there is something showing explicitly the minidump file is created.
    And actually the Minidump is created after Windows restarted, and it could take some time to see it. And usually the Windows error report tool displays also an alert (for a new crash).

    Frederic
     
  12. shaunwang

    shaunwang Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Posts:
    94
    hmm... it seems like my vista sp1 does not prompt to any crash after the restart. I not too sure why either...

    Just to be sure nothing was being disable in my services by anything else

    Beside
    Windows_Error_Reporting_Service

    What other services is required to allow Windows error report tool displays alert (for a new crash).. I remembered having this before but not sure did I disable it.
     
  13. Frederic

    Frederic LnS Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    4,354
    Location:
    France
    I don't know the services involved in the error report. Sorry.

    Frederic
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.