Does "inbound" always come from outside

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by woobook, Oct 29, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. woobook

    woobook Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Posts:
    131
    I am using Panda Titanium 2007. I closed all "Inbound" in panda firewall, including Generic Host Process for Win32 Services. So each time I connect internet I shall receive a "block inbound" note in panda log. but there is not remote ip and the remote port is 0. Does this "inbound" come from outside?

    Panda's firewall has a Webproxy, does it means that the "remote" is panda itself ?
     
  2. woobook

    woobook Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Posts:
    131
    panda log
     

    Attached Files:

  3. woobook

    woobook Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Posts:
    131
    CurrPorts log
     

    Attached Files:

  4. cprtech

    cprtech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    Posts:
    335
    Location:
    Canada
    LocalHost loopback is all happening from within your machine. It's your application(s) communicating with themselves through the machine's address, 127.0.0.1

    This thread https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=143242&highlight=loopback has some informative posts on it.

    So to answer your question, not all remote communications are coming from the outside.
     
  5. woobook

    woobook Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Posts:
    131
    But in the first picture, the inbound Remote IP is empty. Does it means 0.0.0.0? I have checked that IP address 0.0.0.0 is reserved for the default network.

    In Panda's default setting, Generic Host Process for Win32, LSA Shell, Internet Explorer are permitted by inbound and outbound. I want change the setting, but I worry the change shall disturbs panda's action.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.