Does Avast 8 new (& somewhat hidden) "Ad Blocker" works on IE8?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Wild Hunter, Mar 6, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Wild Hunter

    Wild Hunter Former Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Posts:
    1,375
    I'm curious because it doesn't seem to work here after some tries (it installs but doesn't seem to work).

    A more detailed explanation of what happens here:

    Source.
     
  2. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    4,096
    Last edited: Mar 6, 2013
  3. Wild Hunter

    Wild Hunter Former Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Posts:
    1,375
    With that workaround, the error dialog disappears, but the functionality of the Ad Blocker still seems to be broken.

    Also, I would like some official answer/fix, if possible. I think there are Avast! employers reading this forum. :)
     
  4. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    4,096
    Yes, but I can confirm that it is actually blocking any ads.
     
  5. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    1,732
    are you talking about metro ie or regular ie?
    metro ie cant use any bho. and ms is planning to drop all bho support in all future ie.
     
  6. Wild Hunter

    Wild Hunter Former Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Posts:
    1,375
    IE 8 on XP.
     
  7. Yash Khan

    Yash Khan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    1,837
    Where is Avast ADBlocker on Win 7 64 IE 9? How to check/edit settings?

    I have installed it & appears in manage add-ons.
     
  8. Wild Hunter

    Wild Hunter Former Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Posts:
    1,375
  9. jo3blac1

    jo3blac1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2012
    Posts:
    739
    Location:
    U.S.
    Why release a product that's not ready? Is Avast 8 still in Beta?
     
  10. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,872
    The adblocker is just useless.
    The software updater is a COMPLETE waste of time.Only IE and the flash player were listed.:thumbd:
     
  11. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,786
    I don't think any of that stuff belongs in an AV at all. When I tried the beta, and saw that, I had to move on. No more for me....
     
  12. Wild Hunter

    Wild Hunter Former Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Posts:
    1,375
    Software Updater is entirely optional. During installation I picked "Minimal" and it wasn't installed.

    Ad Blocker is a nice addition. I hope it gets fixed.
     
  13. Wild Hunter

    Wild Hunter Former Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Posts:
    1,375
    Any new info about this issue?
     
  14. Mman79

    Mman79 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Posts:
    2,016
    Location:
    North America
    I don't have any info on your issue. But I agree that the "software updater" is a waste of time and can't possibly be fully implemented yet. Ugly secret? The "Ad blocker" is nothing more than ABP built -in. It gets its lists straight from there and is not at all Avast related.
     
  15. Mman79

    Mman79 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Posts:
    2,016
    Location:
    North America
    Who are you with then? I thought you had stayed with Avast after you found out that BitDefender considered BD Free an unimportant stepchild? :D
     
  16. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,965
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    It works fine here.:)
     
  17. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,786
    Haha.. Well, I was on Avast for a while, but now I'm on MSE. I know it doesn't have the best protection, but honestly, it's the most hassle-free. I am in Ubuntu most of the time lately anyhow... :)
     
  18. Mman79

    Mman79 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Posts:
    2,016
    Location:
    North America
    Gotcha. I'm thinking about giving AVG Free another chance, or possibly Panda Cloud. I have too much of a "Is it really protecting me?" mindset whenever I have MSE around. I wish I didn't as it is far and away a great example of "set it and forget it". I'm getting ready to switch around my setup again and include MBAM Pro, so I'm undecided on my AV just yet.
     
  19. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    2,825
    Speaking of Avast and the ad blocker, is it available in the free version as well?

    Side note, does anyone know of any discounts yet on Avast premier?

    Thanks. :cool:
     
  20. Wild Hunter

    Wild Hunter Former Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Posts:
    1,375
    Yes, Avast! Free 8 is what I'm using. Read the first post of this thread for help in how to locate the Ad Blocker.
     
  21. Wild Hunter

    Wild Hunter Former Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Posts:
    1,375
    Maybe, but there is no ABP available for IE 8 on XP AFAIK (remember that IE 8 is the last version of IE available for XP).

    Which makes this free Avast 8 Ad Blocker a really valuable thing for those using IE 8 on XP.

    And that's why I'll keep complaining and asking until the new free Avast 8 Ad Blocker works properly or they officially drop its support for IE8 on XP. :)
     
  22. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    2,825
    Thank you sir.

    Now for a Premier discount. I hope at least. :oops:
     
  23. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    4,096
    This.
     
  24. acuariano

    acuariano Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Posts:
    786
    any update on how this adblocker is working
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.