Does ATIH 11 support the restore from a NAS over the network from the rescue-cd?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Elmar, Jun 13, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Elmar

    Elmar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Posts:
    6
    As written in the topic I would like to know if acronis true image home 11 supports the backup/restore from/to a NAS when using the rescue-cd. Iam using a synology DS109 and was able to restore a partition over the network using the rescue disc one time. But unfortunately I was not able to reproduce this "feature". Sometimes I dont see anything under network, my neighbourhood or even with the ftp-service and sometimes after 5 minutes ATIH asks me for a username/password. Unfortunately acronis doesnt accept any of the valid usernames I enter there.
    So the questions is, if this is an official feature or not. If it is, I will contact support and ask for help there.

    Regards,

    Elmar
     
  2. Earthling

    Earthling Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Posts:
    604
    Location:
    UK
    Yes, it does, but only when using Ethernet. It does not support wireless when booted to the Rescue CD.
     
  3. Elmar

    Elmar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Posts:
    6
    Ok, as Iam using ethernet it should generally work.

    Is it supported as well with a NAS like the synology, which generally only supports username/password-protected shares? If so, why do I normally see no username/password-dialog? or when this dialog appears, why does it appear only after 5 minutes? Any ideas or suggestions what the problem could be?

    I already checked the status of the NIC, which is ok from what I see (DHCP, with IP-address assigned).

    Regards,

    Elmar
     
  4. Earthling

    Earthling Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Posts:
    604
    Location:
    UK
    I can only confirm that ATI 11 does work satisfactorily with my Buffalo Linkstation Pro NAS when booted to the Rescue CD.
     
  5. Elmar

    Elmar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Posts:
    6
    Ok, thats good to read.

    What type of share do you use (ftp, windows shares, etc.).?
    Do you have username/password protection?
    Does the rescue cd-software ask you for a username password immediately?

    Regards,

    Elmar
     
  6. Earthling

    Earthling Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Posts:
    604
    Location:
    UK
    The Buffalo does not support username/password folder protection. Once added to a Windows workgroup all computers in that workgroup have free access, either via the network or via a mapped drive letter. Only the NAS' setup is username/password protected.

    This doesn't help you unfortunately.
     
  7. Earthling

    Earthling Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Posts:
    604
    Location:
    UK
    I need to completely withdraw that statement. Not having any need for access control I had forgotten that I had turned it off in the Buffalo's admin, but in fact you can set up password enabled users and folders and the username/password dialog pops up immediately whenever an attempt is made to access any such folder. If the folder is already mapped to a network drive then access is not allowed.

    The statement in the quote above only applies to the default Share folder, which is similar to a Public folder in Windows.

    I'm not familiar with the Synology, but if it's anything like the Buffalo then finding your way around the security options is less than intuitive, and it took a while for the penny to drop in my case. Maybe you need just to persevere ;)
     
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2009
  8. Elmar

    Elmar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Posts:
    6
    @Earthling: Iam a little bit confused about your last post: How can a folder be "...already mapped to a network drive..." when you boot from the acronis rescue cd?

    Anyway, I contacted acronis support and they gave me a link to a boot-image for a rescue-cd with an extended driver set. And with this boot-cd the logon-dialog came up immediately. I had some trouble when entering the path to my NAS with the name for the NAS (e.g. \\NAS1\sharename\Test.tib). When using a name the information that true image provided when selecting the path (esp. the contents of that path) came up with a significant delay and after selecting a backup for restore acronis hang completely for at least 3 minutes. After that I made a reboot.
    But after using an ip-adress instead of the name (e.g. \\192.168.1.2\sharename\Test.tib) everything worked fine.

    Summary:
    Acronis true image home 11 rescue cd IS able to connect to a NAS and also especially to a synology DS109.

    BUT one has to use the ip-adress for the NAS and a boot-cd with an extended driver-set which you can receive from synology support.

    Elmar
     
  9. Earthling

    Earthling Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Posts:
    604
    Location:
    UK
    I've disabled all the Buffalo's access control again now, but from memory what I think I meant was that if another computer on the network has the drive mapped then, with Access Control on, you can't access the Buffalo when booted to the CD on another computer.

    Why can't you just browse to your NAS in Computers Near Me, that's all I have to do.
     
  10. Elmar

    Elmar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Posts:
    6
    To be honest, I just didnt try that. It didnt work previously and so I forgot to try it now. But anyway, the NAS generally works for me as well now and thats fine for me then.

    Elmar
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.