Does Acronis True Image Monitor always need to run?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Mediaman, Sep 7, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mediaman

    Mediaman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Posts:
    53
    I use Acronis True Image 10 on Windows Vista......I just noticed that its one of the largest memory hogs under Task Manager/ Processes - 59,860K !! The name is: TrueImageMonitor.EXE and description is Acronis True Image Monitor

    1) Why so high?

    2) Also, why is it running at all...I only use it once a week for incremental images..why does it need to be there? Can I turn it off??

    I also see another process running called Acronis Scheduler Helper (schedhlp.exe), but that makes sense, and its only 844 K.

    Many thanks.
     
  2. bral

    bral Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Posts:
    5
    Mine is 3.728 KB right now.
    I don't know why.
    Oh... XP here, not Vista.
     
  3. thomasjk

    thomasjk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Posts:
    1,477
    Location:
    Charlotte NC
    Mediaman, this issue of the services started by TI has been discussed many times. Please read:
    Why Run The True Image Services:
    schedul2.exe, schedhlp.exe and TrueImageMonitor.exe.
    Timountermonitor.exe
    The net of this is you may experience issues turning them off and there are no great gains to be had also.

    On my XP system all four services are:
    schedhlp.exe 2764K
    schedul2.exe 2316K
    Timountermonitor.exe 4948K
    TrueImageMonitor.exe 3432K
    My machine is a P3 1GHZ with 512MB.
     
  4. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Mediaman,

    On my Vista machine, TrueImageMonitor.exe shows 1,368K.

    Does yours always show 59,860K? Does it show this when you just start the computer?
     
  5. Mediaman

    Mediaman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Posts:
    53
    I just rebooted and now it shows 1524K. Hmmm. I'll have to keep an eye on this thing to see if it grows on its own over time ( as I rarely need to reboot)....
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.