Does acronis back up windows mail?

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by david banner, Feb 14, 2015.

  1. david banner

    david banner Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Posts:
    576
    I did a back up of my vista with acronis 2014 before reinstalling windows. I have the backup on my win 7 machine.

    I cannot find my win mail when i mount my username. I assume it backs up email I chose full back up? All i can find is a reference to windows mail in a public folder. That was a folder where i could access from any pc on lan. There no messages mostly .dll and .dat files
     
  2. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,646
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    David,

    Have you mounted the entire image as a drive letter?
    Where were the files in Vista?
     
  3. david banner

    david banner Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Posts:
    576
    Yes I have mounted the iage as drive. They are at

    backup.tib\backup\C:\users\ usernames\desktop\unused icons\Windows mail backup

    Not all are there. A specific one for a date in July 2013 is not. The path refers to a mail backup folder on the desktop. Should there be a fuller one else where? What would be path? Thanks. I nee dthe email sent on that date. There is ackknowledgement to it in the backed up inbox but it does not have the sent content
     
  4. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,646
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Can you mount the image as Z: drive? I think you are just exploring the image.
     
  5. david banner

    david banner Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Posts:
    576
    The backup is on an external drive

    I can mount it as drive K on my win 7 but am denied acces to the folder K:\Users\username. I need to use the security tab. What do i do with the security tab object name K:\users\username


    or should i mount it on the vista it was made from?

    Thanks
     
  6. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,646
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    David,

    Try these 2 lines from an Admin Command prompt...

    takeown /f "K:\users\username" /r
    icacls "K:\users\username" /grant users:F /t

    I don't have Acronis TI installed at present so I can't test the above.
     
  7. david banner

    david banner Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Posts:
    576
    Thanks. i tried them and got access denied.

    C:\Users\*****>
    C:\Users\******>takeown /f "K:\users\******" /r
    ERROR: Access is denied.

    C:\Users\****>icacls "K:\users\*******" /grant users:F /t
    K:\users\*******: Access is denied.
    Successfully processed 0 files; Failed processing 1 files



    Also now when i try aback up acronis will flash like small window opening and then disappearing and nothing happens
     
    Last edited: Feb 16, 2015
Loading...