Document Download Links Not Working

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Menorcaman, Sep 6, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Hello Acronis Support,

    When I enter the URL http://www.acronis.com into my browser I'm automatically redirected to http://eu.acronis.com/. I then navigate to the "Download" > "Home Products Documentation" page and see that the URL is now http://eu.acronis.com/homecomputing/download/docs/. So far so good. However, if I then try to download any of the listed documents I just end up at a blank page.

    I noticed that when I hovered my curser over any of the listed documents, the URLs in my browser Status Bar all began with http://download.acronis.com/pdf/ followed by the document name. However, if I then enter that URL (including the file name) into my browser's Address Bar, the document would download successfully.

    I can also correctly download any of the document via the displayed documents list by changing the URL in my browser's Address Bar from http://eu.acronis.com/homecomputing/download/docs/ to http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/download/docs/

    So, it would seems that the http://eu.acronis.com web site doesn't recognise the http://download.acronis.com links. Is this due to my Internet Explorer or Firewall settings or is there a problem with the http://eu.acronis.com web site?

    Kind regards
     
  2. Christopher_NC

    Christopher_NC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Posts:
    293
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    Greetings, Menorcaman!

    From North Carolina, I just tried the link,

    http://eu.acronis.com/homecomputing/download/docs/

    which took me to the Aronis download site. Clicking the link to the TI 9.0 User Manual provided me another copy of the manual, in PDF form. So, at least from here, the site seems to be working. With Firefox.

    Following up: Perhaps I spoke too soon. The first TI 9.0 User Manual downloaded and opened fine. I decided to check the link again, and several other times, each time resulting in an error message, either Expected a dict object, or that the file is damaged and could not be repaired. Well, I just tried again, and, while some error messages occured, the manual opened, and appears readable, though some images are missing. Perhaps the server is busy, from all those testing the link? Disk Director 10 downloaded and opened fine, on repeated attempts.

    The actual link in my browser for the TI 9.0 User Manual appears as: http://us1.download.acronis.com/pdf/TrueImage9.0_ug.en.pdf

    As you suggested earlier today, I may have issues with opening and displaying PDF files, and will experiment with corrupting and opening some PDF's tomorrow.

    Regards,

    Christopher
     
    Last edited: Sep 6, 2006
  3. Christopher_NC

    Christopher_NC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Posts:
    293
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    Menorcaman,

    Well, again, you save the day! Or, at least offer sage advice that soothes the day's bumps and bruises.

    Your suggested fix for Adobe Reader worked like a charm! And, I now have a new TI 9.0 Users Guide, with, lo and behold, sections about File-level security settings, 6.4.4, which I searched for in vain recently.

    I've retested the links for Acronis downloads, and, for now, they are working well from North Carolina. Repeatedly, with no errors.

    How does one learn of the release of a new Users Guide? Even the Guide doesn't have a release date, but for copyright 2000-2006. Any chance of posting releases such as this in the forums, or sending them out as product update notifications? I know, wish list...

    For others, the fix for opening apparently corrupt PDF files, from Menorcaman's post in another thread is:

     
  4. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Hi Christopher,

    Thank's for taking an interesting and the testing you carried out.

    I've just tried the documents download again using Menorcawoman's laptop (different software firewall) and find I still get the same problem. Whatever is causing www.acronis.com to be automatically redirected to http://eu.acronis.com here in Spain instantly results in a blank web page whenever I attempt to download one of the listed documents. Software downloads work just fine.

    As I indicated above, I can work around it but that shouldn't be necessary and I'm intrigued as to what's causing this strange behaviour o_O.

    Regards
     
  5. Christopher_NC

    Christopher_NC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Posts:
    293
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    Menorcaman,

    You may have negleted to look at local sunspot activity before clicking the link. Next time, when gamma radiation in your area exceeds 3.7878 kernals per sector, press F-11, and enter gamma quiet, then send a report of the following parameters: [link unavailable in Menorca], including what you and Menorcawoman ate for breakfast, to: o_O

    Regards
     
  6. como

    como Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Posts:
    498
    I have just tried www.acronis.com and had no problems in connecting from the UK. I then successfully downloaded the user guide for TI 9 home, the address in the browser was http://us1.download.acronis.com/pdf/TrueImage9.0_ug.en.pdf

    Note I am using the latest version of Firefox as my browser

    Perhaps all those jellyfish have eaten the cable from Menorca :)
     
  7. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Could be but why would they only eat the one that conducts the document files and not the one for the applications o_O :D.

    Regards
     
  8. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Well I'll be jiggered!! All of a sudden, without changing anything, I no longer get redirected to http://eu.acronis.com when I enter www.acronis.com into IE's Address Bar. So, everything is back to working as it should. Most strange o_O.

    Perhaps the jellyfish didn't like underwater cables after all or maybe the mere thought of Christopher's proposed "fix" was enough to sort it :p. More likely that someone, somewhere realised that they had dropped a bo...ck and straightened it out :D.

    Thanks for your serious and not so serious inputs guys.

    Kind regards
     
  9. Christopher_NC

    Christopher_NC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Posts:
    293
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    Duh! They were Files and Folders jellyfish!
     
  10. como

    como Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Posts:
    498
    Menorcaman

    Pleased you are back to normal

    Regards

    como
     
  11. Christopher_NC

    Christopher_NC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Posts:
    293
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    When I told my insightful wife just now about the jellyfish problem off Menorca, she said, well, it's obvious, they aren't executable jellyfish.

    Don't know why I missed that:)
     
  12. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Strewth!! What on earth is going on. Rechecked this morning and found that the original symptoms are back again.

    Acronis Support can you please have a word with your Web Team and advise what/where they think the problem might be.

    Regards
     
  13. como

    como Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Posts:
    498
    Still ok in the UK
     

    Attached Files:

  14. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Hi como,

    Maybe acronis.com senses that I'm using a Spanish ISP (ocea.es) and redirects me to their European site (eu.acronis.com). Still, I just don't understand why yesterday, all of a sudden, I ceased being redirected and today it's misbehaving again. Weird to say the least. Hopefully Acronis Support can throw some light on it.
     
  15. bVolk

    bVolk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2005
    Posts:
    954
    From Slovenia (EU) I can access both sites, no redirection.

    Just as well, since on the eu.acronis site the prices are of exactly the same amount in euro as they are in dollars on the international site. :D
     
  16. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Menorcaman and everyone interested,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please accept our sincere apologies for the delay with the response.

    I've forwarded this issue to our Web Team and will inform you about the results of their investigation as soon as I'll receive a reply. As this can take a few days we apologize in advance for any delay with the response.

    Thank you.
    --
    Alexey Popov
     
  17. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Menorcaman,

    I've just received a reply from our Web Team and they assured me that the problem is solved.

    To be more precise, they say that it is a normal situation when you are being redirected to the http://eu.acronis.com web site instead of the http://www.acronis.com/. However, when you download the documentation the links to the corresponding .pdf files should be as follows: http://de1.download.acronis.com/pdf/product_name.pdf. For some reason, they did not work as they should, but currently (as our Web Team says) you should be able to download the documentation without a problem.

    If you have any further questions concerning Acronis software, please feel free to submit a request for technical support or post any of them on this forum. We will certainly try to help you in resolving any issues.

    Thank you.
    --
    Alexey Popov
     
  18. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Hello Alexey,

    Hmm. I'm now being redirected from http://www.acronis.com/ to http://es.www.acronis.com/ o_O. However the URL for the documents are still in the form of http://download.acronis.com/pdf/product_name.en.pdf, which merely results in a blank page as before. On the other hand, the workaround provided via your PM works well ;).

    Regards
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.