Do you use System Restore?

Discussion in 'polls' started by ams963, Jun 7, 2012.

?

Do you use System Restore?

  1. Yes

    22 vote(s)
    35.5%
  2. No

    40 vote(s)
    64.5%
  1. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,965
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    Do you use Windows System Restore?
     
  2. Tyrizian

    Tyrizian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Posts:
    2,806
    A while ago I did

    As for now...

    No, not needed in my setup.
     
  3. berryracer

    berryracer Suspended Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,640
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
    System restore and UAC and Windows Defender and Windows Firewall and Internet Explorer and Media Features and Tablet PC Components are the first thing I disable when I install Windows.

    I use Acronis True Image to create an image of Windows after I have updated it and configured it to my liking, then I install all my apps using Revo Uninstaller!
     
  4. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,029
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Only when I have to.
     
  5. tomazyk

    tomazyk Guest

    :thumb:

    I have almost the same practice (except leaving IE and FW on). Using Acronis TI instead of System restore, also.
     
  6. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,785
    Tried it once ages ago, but it seemed pretty worthless....
     
  7. pabrate

    pabrate Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Posts:
    685
    I have it ON but don't use it.
    I really can't see how this feature turned ON can cause any harm or bloat or whatever.
    Sure, it might take some space on HD but that's pretty small and can be deleted from time to time if needed.
     
  8. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,785
    Sure, I leave it on too, and let it do it's thing, but I would never rely on it to recover from any problems....
     
  9. NGRhodes

    NGRhodes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Posts:
    2,331
    Location:
    West Yorkshire, UK
    I use it on Win7 only (it never worked for me in XP) as a quick rollback tool. So far never needed to use it in Win7 (then again I tend to leave the same software on and use a VM for playing/experimenting).

    Too many people do not understand the limitations.

    System restore cannot be use for backup purposes as you cannot guarantee the system will retain your restore points and system restore will create snapshots of your system configuration regaurdless of the integritity of the system and flush out known working restore points for them.

    System restore for XP was too limited due to limitations on file types and locations that were monitored made is pretty much useless to rely on. My experience was that if an uninstall/reinstall would not work, neither would system restore.

    It is possible, though rare, for the other drive backup/recovery tools that use VSS to conflict or cause problems with system restore.
     
  10. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,221
    The only good system restore is an image of the OS. I always turn it off, although it is good to have it on if you don't back up your system regularly.
     
  11. clubhouse

    clubhouse Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Posts:
    180
    I used it once a while back (Win7) did what it says on the tin and restored my system back to full working order.....nice.
     
  12. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,828
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    I've always had it off in XP but with W7 I figured I have a lot of room for restore points and I don't see the harm that could be done, so I enabled it.
    IIRC, having system restore turned on can interfere with malware removal process, and I think that is why I turned it off in XP.
     
  13. Snowden

    Snowden Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    Posts:
    68
    Nope, I make regular system backups that can be completely restored or simply mounted if I just need to grab a file

    I didn't want shadow volume copies
     
  14. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    3,875
    Has saved the bacon, on occasion....so, yes! :D
     
  15. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,468
    System Restore is the first thing i disable when i format my PC.
    I have tried using it a few times and it has only worked once. Almost every single time it has some kind of problem, so i consider it CRAP! :D

    And i feel it does a half arsed job. :rolleyes: :rolleyes:
    It does not even restores the system properly like an imaging software, it just undo some changes in the system files but leaves all the other things there.
     
  16. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    i turned it off a long time ago.

    it proves itself unreliable and restoring an image only takes 3 minutes on my machine.
     
  17. wtsinnc

    wtsinnc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Posts:
    943
    It's turned off.
    I use CTM and if that fails, I wipe and restore an image; Paragon or Macrium.
     
  18. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,468
    I though i was the only one experiencing issues with System Restore, it always shows some kind of problem when trying to restore a restore point. :cautious:
     
  19. marc57

    marc57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Posts:
    83
    Location:
    St Marys,WV. U.S.A.

    Same here.
     
  20. StrangerGuy

    StrangerGuy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2012
    Posts:
    18
    Never its just a crap method which satisfy a user that it stored its computer in old position but the only thing its do is remove the desktop icon of the software which you want to uninstall from your pc :p
     
  21. guest

    guest Guest

    not only do i disable it, i completely remove it from
    windows xp
     
  22. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,965
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    How do you do that?
     
  23. Boost

    Boost Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Posts:
    1,293
    No,first thing I disable when I get a PC setup.
     
  24. guest

    guest Guest

    Ok
    here is a simple way of doing it
    DO AT YOUR OWN RISK
    I suggest to make a image of your system before you do this
    also this is for Windows XP

    go to services and find System Restore Service
    double click on it a new box will open

    look for service name this is what it is named in the registry, write this down
    I think it is srservice
    I have already deleted it from all my machines so I can't look it up

    then stop the service
    then in the dropdown box disable the service click appy, click ok
    close services box

    to delete services;

    Click Start | Run and type regedit in the Open: line. Click OK.

    Navigate to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services

    Scroll down the left pane, locate the service name, right click it and select Delete.

    Reboot the system

    """"remember to make a system image first"""

    this will work with other trash in windows too like the "security center"
    and can do even a better job if you use resource hacker but that is more than i will go into here
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 10, 2012
  25. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,965
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    Okay thanks. I'll try that. :)
     
Loading...