Do you use Private Browsing feature of your browser?

Discussion in 'polls' started by ams963, Aug 14, 2012.

?

Do you use Private Browsing feature of your browser?

  1. Yes- always

    20 vote(s)
    18.5%
  2. Yes- occassionally

    26 vote(s)
    24.1%
  3. Yes- rarely

    13 vote(s)
    12.0%
  4. No- used to do it

    2 vote(s)
    1.9%
  5. No

    45 vote(s)
    41.7%
  6. Never knew my browser had that feature

    2 vote(s)
    1.9%
  1. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,965
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    Do you use Private Browsing feature of your browser?
     
  2. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    No voting options?
     
  3. Tyrizian

    Tyrizian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Posts:
    2,806
    Not by default, But I do when it's needed (manually)
     
  4. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,829
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    No, I run tools like CCleaner (manually) and Click&Clean (automatically) when I close my browser. Plus, Chrome's incognito feature does not support extensions, and I prefer to run with them enabled.
     
  5. Carver

    Carver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Posts:
    1,827
    Location:
    USA
    No, private mode turns out to be not very private or secure no extensions.
     
  6. tomazyk

    tomazyk Guest

    No, I use SBIE for my browsers. Everything is gone each time I close the browser.
     
  7. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,468
    OOPS, i voted NO but i do use it occasionally. :D :D
     
  8. majoMo

    majoMo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Posts:
    938
    Yes- occasionally
    No occassionally... :D
     
  9. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    No I dont use incognito with Dragon but I do suppres HTTP referer header,Block third party cookies and site data, Clear history on browser close.
     
  10. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    voted no.

    i got Firefox to auto-delete everything on exit.
    when i want a fresh start, i just close Firefox and re-open it.
     
  11. No. Live CDs are better.
     
  12. niki

    niki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Posts:
    363
    Same here.
     
  13. safeguy

    safeguy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Posts:
    1,718
    Yes. On all of my browsers.
     
  14. carat

    carat Guest

  15. nikanthpromod

    nikanthpromod Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Posts:
    1,369
    Location:
    India
    yes , when needed.;)
     
  16. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    Yes sometimes :thumb:
     
  17. TigerRaptorFX

    TigerRaptorFX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2011
    Posts:
    58
    I rarely use it.
     
  18. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    5,250
    I use it a littile bit in IE. This is not by browser of choice, but I do use IE for private browsing.

    I don't have any use for addons, so that is not an issue for me. I prefer to use private browsing to clearing the cache at exit, becuase it is very rare for me to clean the cache ever. I really like having weeks or even months of browsing history saved so make it quicker and easier to go to previously visited web pages.
     
  19. jo3blac1

    jo3blac1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2012
    Posts:
    739
    Location:
    U.S.
    what's the advantage of using private browsing as oppose to using ghostery?
     
  20. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    5,250
    They're two different things. Private browsing works the same as regular web browsing with the one exepction being that there is no history of your browsing recorded.
     
  21. chrisretusn

    chrisretusn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Posts:
    1,322
    Location:
    Philippines
    Sometimes.
     
  22. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    Actually, no. Incognito does disable extensions by default, but you can enable them manually in chrome://chrome/extensions/. :)
     
  23. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,829
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    Thanks for the info, m00n. :thumb:
     
  24. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,700
    No. What for? To hide from myself what I'm doing?
    Mrk
     
  25. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,052
    Location:
    USA
    Nobody uses my machines but me. And the ISP probably tracks and logs all of it either way. So no real point as far as I am concerned.
     
Loading...