Do you use a Windows program dock?

Discussion in 'polls' started by NRProia, Sep 20, 2011.

?

Do you use a Windows program dock?

  1. ObjectDock

    5.1%
  2. RocketDock

    8.5%
  3. Winstep Nexus Dock

    1.7%
  4. Other

    6.8%
  5. None

    78.0%
  1. NRProia

    NRProia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Posts:
    111
    Location:
    Lowell, MA

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Sep 20, 2011
  2. jadinolf

    jadinolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Posts:
    483
    Location:
    Ojai, CA
    Nope

    Never even heard of it.o_O
     
  3. xandros

    xandros Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Posts:
    411
    no , but maybe i will try it if its not slow my computer
     
  4. PJC

    PJC Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Posts:
    2,959
    Location:
    Internet
    No, I've never felt the need for having one...:cool:
     
  5. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,468
    Keep it as simple as possible, the less the better it is (That's my analogy for my PC, since it's not a blazing fast machine, just above average)
     
  6. blacknight

    blacknight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,434
    Location:
    Europe
    Actually not. If I had, I would use the dock of Vista Inspirat Bricopacks, that is installed in my XP.
     
  7. SA Jack

    SA Jack Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Posts:
    45
    I used to use Rocket Dock for a few years. When I updated to a Dell desktop, it came with Dell Dock (From Stardock). I've always liked the simplicity and organization capable within these dock programs. Unfortunately, the Dell Dock is not available for non Dell PC's.
     
  8. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,650
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Is a dock like a launch pad?

    I began using a launcher named Runit many years ago, on a Jacquard, & I still use it.

    >>@NRProia: Nexus does look interesting. How much cpu & I/O does it use? That's what matters. What does NOT matter (well, not much) is how much RAM it uses -- but heck, tell me anyway... please.
     
  9. NRProia

    NRProia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Posts:
    111
    Location:
    Lowell, MA
    Hello,

    I find that Winstep Nexus Dock uses 0% to 2% of the CPU, and 6K to 12K of RAM. That's because I have three modules running on the dock. EMail Checker (I have it set to check my Comcast e-mail account via POP every minute), Net In, and Net Out. I also have the Always On Top feature disabled. So unlike the Windows Taskbar or 7 Superbar, it's unobtrusive and not always visible on the screen.

    Regards,

    Nathan
     
  10. mrpink

    mrpink Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Posts:
    376
    StandaloneStack for me, even though i tried all three of them in the past
     
  11. philby

    philby Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Posts:
    940
    Like Noob said - I keep it simple! I played around with ObjectDock ages ago and it just got on my nerves.
     
  12. cozumel

    cozumel Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    Posts:
    260
    Location:
    London, UK
    I don't like anything on my desktop. No icons, no taskbar, no sidebar, no nothing.

    I voted none
     
  13. ExtremeGamerBR

    ExtremeGamerBR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Posts:
    1,115
    + 1! :thumb:
     
  14. Spruce

    Spruce Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Posts:
    291
    Fences Pro by Stardock
    ObjectDock got on my nerves too... but Fences is a perfect balance between simplicity and functionality :thumb:
     
  15. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    None, start menu search is far more effective.
     
  16. TairikuOkami

    TairikuOkami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,509
    Location:
    Slovakia
    Nope, I do not even use desktop or quick launch icons, I find it distrurbing, I like a clean desktop. :)
     
  17. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    Yes and No. I have Dell dock on my dell laptop and None on my gateway Netbook,
     
  18. guest

    guest Guest

    None.
     
  19. siberianwolf

    siberianwolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Posts:
    516
    this ^ + no themes (everything in win classic style) + no wallpaper/background image.
     
  20. Seven64

    Seven64 Guest

    Does Stardock Fences count?
     
  21. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Dell dock with some Icons from Rocket Dock.
     
  22. 3inchblue

    3inchblue Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Posts:
    49
    Object dock, but it's not starting with windows.

    I have used the other docks mentioned in the poll, but just installed object recently.
    Got rainmeter as well for extra file and component control, plus extras added to the desktop context menu for favs.
     
  23. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,052
    Location:
    USA
    With Windows 7 there just seems to be no point.
     
  24. poison

    poison Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Posts:
    150
    Before Windows 7 I used rocketdock. Now I don't use any.
     
  25. PJC

    PJC Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Posts:
    2,959
    Location:
    Internet
    Neither on XP, nor on Seven...:cool:
     
Loading...