Do you use a cloud antivirus?

Discussion in 'polls' started by acr1965, Oct 8, 2013.

?

Do you use a cloud antivirus?

  1. No cloud scanner

    30 vote(s)
    42.9%
  2. on demand cloud scanner

    9 vote(s)
    12.9%
  3. cloud scanner real time

    19 vote(s)
    27.1%
  4. cloud scanner to supplement another av

    12 vote(s)
    17.1%
  1. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    Many people use cloud av's in different ways while some do not use any at all. If you use one please list which brand and whether as an on-demand scanner only, real time supplement to another av or real time with no supplement. By "cloud" I do not mean a traditional, installed resident antivirus with signatures and a cloud component.

    Thanks
     
  2. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    HitmanPro, although Avast is becoming rather cloud-dependant. Actually what exactly separates a "Cloud AV" from traditional, don't they both rely on Internet connection to update and submit samples?
     
  3. mattdocs12345

    mattdocs12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Posts:
    1,785
    Location:
    US
    I have avast with cloud enabled on my 2nd laptop. On my main work laptop I have no need for AV.
     
  4. guest

    guest Guest

    Nope.

    @Matt

    Speaking of AV poll, it's already October. :D
     
  5. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,965
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    The poll should have multiple choice. Like I use Hitman Pro and WSA. One is on-demand and another realtime. Some may even use another AV along with the two that would make the last three options in the poll valid.
     
  6. Cruise

    Cruise Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Posts:
    1,024
    Location:
    USA
    I'm currently using Webroot SecureAnywhere (real-time cloud AV) together with Shadow Defender (to virtualize my system partition).
     
  7. c2d

    c2d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    570
    Location:
    Bosnia
    Currently using Webroot AV but for how long I don't know.
     
  8. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    In a way yes, as it get's realtime updates every 2-5 min one could say that it is cloud powered. :)
     
  9. blacknight

    blacknight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,434
    Location:
    Europe
    No cloud scanner: I don't trust the clouding system: too servers involved, too users, too data exchanges, transfers... who sends what ? Really it's possible to check all them ?
     
  10. Techwiz

    Techwiz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Posts:
    539
    Location:
    United States
    I need a light anti-virus solution for my laptop. At the time, there were reports of on-going compatibility issues between comodo and some other anti-viruses. I didn't see anything for Panda, keeping in mind it was new, so I decided to give it a try. Has worked well for my needs. It can be buggy at times. I don't really use the data protection feature, as its overlap and could cause compatibility issues. In regards to aesthetics, Avast and Panda seem the most attractive based on color scheme, UI design, etc.
     
  11. Sherlock_Holmes

    Sherlock_Holmes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Posts:
    1,449
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Just WSA currently
     
  12. aztony

    aztony Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Posts:
    547
    Location:
    USA Southwest
    I did try Panda Cloud for a little while and liked its liteness, but returned to a more conventional AV.

    Edit: Was having issues with my firewall not logging activity. Switched out of both the firewall & AV. So back to Panda Cloud for now.
     
    Last edited: Oct 14, 2013
  13. Nebulus

    Nebulus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Posts:
    1,582
    Location:
    European Union
    No, and I will never use one. If sometime in the future all AV solutions will be cloud based, I will find alternative ways of protecting my computer.
     
  14. Sampei Nihira

    Sampei Nihira Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Posts:
    658
    Location:
    Italy
    Hitman Pro.
    (On demand cloud scanner).
     
  15. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,468
    I use HMP every now and then. :D
     
  16. dansorin

    dansorin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Posts:
    233
    Location:
    EU
    Panda Cloud AV Free for over 2 years. no problems at all, everything running as it should.
     
  17. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Not currently although Avira has some cloud components now. I wouldn't be afraid to use one in the future though. I did use Panda Cloud for a while on my netbook.
     
  18. SnowFall

    SnowFall Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2013
    Posts:
    16
    Location:
    space
    No cloud anything, if you try and camp a network port or try and connect to the net with out consent or so much as say the world cloud anywhere in your app, you are spyware and the enemy.

    Its that simple :D
     
  19. mattdocs12345

    mattdocs12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Posts:
    1,785
    Location:
    US
    +1. Same here I have nothing cloud on my laptop. It feels so much cleaner.
     
  20. starcraft

    starcraft Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2013
    Posts:
    26
    Used to use Hitman Pro. But now, no.
     
  21. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,965
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    Your simplicity is simply paranoia. Refusing today's reality of cloud computing.
     
  22. Yash Khan

    Yash Khan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    1,837
    Comodo Internet Security (Cloud Enabled )
     
  23. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,222
    Avira V14 has cloud technology, I don't mind at all, but I also know that Avira is very effective without an internet connection (unlike some other AVs).
     
  24. Gullible Jones

    Gullible Jones Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2013
    Posts:
    1,461
    No. At this point I figure that if I can't find malware using Sysinternals tools, I probably won't find it using Hitman Pro.
     
  25. guest

    guest Guest

    I wonder about one thing, can Process Explorer be used to detect rootkits?
     
Loading...