Do You Think COMODO 6.x was Released Prematurely?

Discussion in 'polls' started by Brandonn2010, Dec 21, 2012.

?

Do You Think COMODO 6.x was Released Prematurely?

  1. Yes

    27 vote(s)
    61.4%
  2. No

    17 vote(s)
    38.6%
  1. Brandonn2010

    Brandonn2010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Posts:
    1,849
    I'm reading a lot of things regarding COMODO 6.x being buggy and that the beta was rushed. What do you think?
     
  2. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,872
    Not at all.i feel it is runnign very well and if the comodo devs and mods felt it was unstable in any way then it would not have been released.
    I think the majority of users have given a very positive feedback and lets just see how this beautiful free program matures in time.
     
  3. VectorFool

    VectorFool Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Posts:
    280
    Location:
    India
    i for one feel it was rushed
    my main gripes are
    1)Virtual Kiosk doesn't work on my PC
    2)Ram Usage is High on average and has even higher surges
    3)CPU usage
    4)Interface is too confusing
    5)Process controller(i forgot the actual name) is heavy
    6)Firewall is not Leak Free on default config (much unlike Outpost Pro which is Leak Free on default config and is completely stealthed from port scanners even if you uncheck stealthing)
     
    Last edited: Dec 22, 2012
  4. TheWindBringeth

    TheWindBringeth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Posts:
    2,089
    First of all, I haven't been testing it or even really tried to follow that testing. I'll wait until it is out for awhile and then have a look at it. However, I would like to point out something. Many people are going to be unwrapping new computers next week, and many of those will be wanting an alternative to Microsoft's AV/firewall. There is a window of opportunity to capture those users and it won't last for long. Given that backdrop, it would not be unreasonable to question if a company... any company... releasing their newer software just days before Christmas might have rushed it out the door.
     
  5. Solarlynx

    Solarlynx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Posts:
    1,919
    Me using it from the first beta. It is much lighter then 5.xx. It has rather beautiful GUI though I think it is overcomplicated. Sometimes I'm at a loss how to tweak some feature. CIS 5 GUI was more friendly.

    When I read about its Virtual Kiosk I thought it would be something like SBIE. Now I see it's just like a smart GUI for sandbox. It must be very convenient for banking. I almost don't use the VK.

    IMHO CIS 6 is a new step in the development of CIS and the current version is not premature.
     
  6. encus

    encus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Posts:
    535
    Sorry, I don't use Comodo because I don't want to be bothered with too many prompts.
     
  7. WSFfan

    WSFfan Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2012
    Posts:
    374
    Location:
    The Earth
    It is certainly premature because i experienced a lot of crashes while using Firefox 17.Scrolling through touchpad also doesn't work.So removed it and went back to version 5.I don't need virtual kiosk because i already have a lifetime license of Sandboxie.
     
  8. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,872
    Its interesting you mention firefox which has an insane update schedule and is that not premature.
    Thankfully a lot of users are not experiencing any issues,
     
  9. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,872
    Different configurations will have different results.sorry your having issues .
    Stealthing is not important as its more of a marketing gimmick,kaspersky does not fully stealth its ports and the leak test sites look very automated with their wording etc.
     
  10. PJC

    PJC Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Posts:
    2,959
    Location:
    Internet
    -Q: Do You Think COMODO 6.x was Released Prematurely?

    -A: Time will tell...;)
     
  11. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,872
    Speak of the devil and he shall arrive.!:mad:
    is anybody experiencing slowdowns at start up.?Is not a minor slowdown either it can run into several minutes.Just noticed it today.:argh:
     
  12. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,468
    I haven't used Comodo in almost 2 years . . .
    Does it comes with more goodies now? :D
     
  13. VectorFool

    VectorFool Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Posts:
    280
    Location:
    India
    It comes with a whole box of chocolates,
    however you never know which one may give you an upset stomach :rolleyes:
    its better to wait for a few days after their major releases(which are Betas in effect) and wait for them to iron out the creases
    but after they do iron the creases, they beat all the big names (in firewall module at least)
     
  14. Yash Khan

    Yash Khan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    1,837
    Running absolutely light, smooth & flawless here with no prob at all on Win 7 64 & XP 32.
     
  15. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,872
    Hi naren.Are you using the settings set by chiron.?Hips disabled etc.
    Im trying to find the best configuration .thanks.
     
  16. Yash Khan

    Yash Khan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    1,837
    I am using the default settings. For majority/average users I find default settings the best. I have 2 Win 7 64 & 1 XP 32 with CIS 6 installed. No probs at all whatsoever. And I did a fresh install of CIS 6 i.e no update/upgrade from previous/beta versions.
     
  17. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,872
    Have you enabled the hips?
    Also have you noticed any slowdowns on boot up?
     
  18. Yash Khan

    Yash Khan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    1,837
    I am running default settings & HIPS is disabled in default settings.

    No slowdowns on boot up.

    Virtual Kiosk also opens fast.
     
  19. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,872
    This version is a bit slower than 5.12 at boot up but everything else runs extremely well and no problems with the kiosk,
    I guess an update will occur in the new year to iron out some of the issues that some people were having.:doubt:
     
  20. VectorFool

    VectorFool Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Posts:
    280
    Location:
    India
    Google Chrome and Comodo Dragon doesn't work when CFW 6 is running on my system
    editing rules don't help either
    so i got back to CFW 5.12, everything works now
     
  21. Yash Khan

    Yash Khan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    1,837
    I dont have chrome but dragon is working fine on both Win 7 64 & XP 32.

    Virtual Comodo Dragon & Dragon & IE in Virtual Kiosk are running fine too.

    Only CIS 6 installed here, no other security software like sandboxie, trusteer, exploit shield, etc...
     
  22. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,872
    I feel the need to change my opinion on this actually.

    The latest update fixed a mammoth 200 bugs,so it would be fair to say it was in fact released too early.:)
     
  23. camelia

    camelia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Posts:
    131
    Location:
    Mexico City
    I hate Comodo!!! o_O


    Came
     
  24. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,872
    Why is that.?
     
  25. Yash Khan

    Yash Khan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    1,837
    I guess you haven't tried CIS 6. There are no popups in this version, popups have been eliminated in this version. You will get only one type of popup "Unlimited Rights Alert" for unknown apps & thats not hard to reply. This is with default settings.
     
Loading...