Do you run a real time Antivirus?

Discussion in 'polls' started by Page42, Jan 17, 2014.

?

Do you run a real time Antivirus?

  1. Yes

    68.5%
  2. No

    31.5%
  1. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,829
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    This is not a poll about your favorite AV.
    This poll is simply about whether or not you run one in real time.
    The choices are Yes or No.
    If you run one on demand only, then No is the correct vote.
    You are encouraged to elaborate, and of course, complain about the lack of choices. ;)
     
  2. Impet

    Impet Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Posts:
    896
    Yes, but no bloatware antivirus. :)
     
  3. FreddyFreeloader

    FreddyFreeloader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2013
    Posts:
    527
    Location:
    Tejas
    Was running Webroot, but due to some serious issues about them that have recently surfaced, now back with Bitdefender. I don't see anyone from Bitdefender coming on here shutting down threads they don't like.
     
  4. safeguy

    safeguy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Posts:
    1,718
    No, I don't.
     
  5. FleischmannTV

    FleischmannTV Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Posts:
    1,071
    Location:
    Germany
    Yes, because I am a gamer and thus forced to use crap like Origin and all the other crap that comes with it, which I consider the biggest threat-gate in my system, and none of it works with AppGuard nor with Sandboxie, thanks to their rootkit like behaviour . To make things worse, programs like these work hand in hand with my browser through handlers and plugins, so there's the direct connection between a compromised website and a vulnerable application.

    At least there is EAM, which can be set up to scan only programs before they are executed and it comes without all the borderline unnecessary stuff, which most companies force upon you now: mandatory on-access scanning, stream-scanning, the god-awful invasion of SSL connections, mail-av, the insanely ridiculous link-checkers and so on.

    That said, if I wasn't a gamer, I wouldn't even be running Windows at all ;)
     
  6. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    3,770
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    No AV since Dec 2010.

    Bo
     
  7. Sampei Nihira

    Sampei Nihira Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Posts:
    658
    Location:
    Italy
  8. guest

    guest Guest

    Q: Do you run a real-time antivirus?
    A: No

    Q: Do you use an on-demand scanner?
    A: No

    Q: Do you upload files for online analysis?
    A: No

    Q: Do you even scan your system and files?
    A: No

    Q: Are you on Linux or Mac?
    A: No

    Q: Are you freakin' kiddin' with me?! :mad:
    A: No
     
  9. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,960
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    yes. Webroot at the moment. I've tried going without but I've found that using a light or cloud AV isn't that bad.
     
  10. wolfrun

    wolfrun Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    Posts:
    483
    Location:
    Canada

    I voted no but I do run MBAM pro which technically is not an anti virus program. If I am wrong then send me to a corner. :D
     
  11. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,829
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    I guess I'm the one who should be sent to the corner, wolfrun.
    I was figuring MBAM would count as an AV, even though they describe themselves as beginning where the antivirus programs end. When one considers that an AV no longer restricts itself to viruses only, I just tend to lump all anti-malware programs together.
    My bad, I suppose.
    And one day I may create a poll at Wilders that is correct at all levels... but don't count on it! ;)

    If it helps anyone else, it's okay to count MBAM as an AV... for purposes of this poll, in case you are ever stopped and questioned about it.
     
  12. Overkill

    Overkill Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,134
    Location:
    USA
    Yep, NOD32 :thumb:
     
  13. wolfrun

    wolfrun Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    Posts:
    483
    Location:
    Canada

    @Page42
    Not a problem. At my age I don't take many things too seriously these days.:thumb:
     
  14. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,965
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    I use WSA.:thumb:
     
  15. mattdocs12345

    mattdocs12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Posts:
    1,785
    Location:
    US
    I run several laptops for me and my family. My personal laptop is a Linux and it has no security software installed. My netbook runs Windows 7 and it has BitDefender Free and NoVirusThanks AntiExecutable. Other laptops that I administer run FortiClient or K9, mostly due to their excelleted website blacklist and my family being complete security noobs.

    Since most laptops that I administer have AV on it I voted Yes.
     
  16. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,408
    My Xp desktop - No, not for quite some time.
    My Android /Smartphone - Yes, Eset.
    Wife's Laptop - Yes, Norton Internet Security.
     
  17. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    Yes, more than one on my Windows machine out of interest. Not exactly necessary, but I've got the spare resources.
     
  18. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,829
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    :thumb:
     
  19. Joxx

    Joxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,126
    I find that running a light AV or running no AV is about the same
    so I run a light AV
     
  20. mattdocs12345

    mattdocs12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Posts:
    1,785
    Location:
    US
    Yeah I've noticed that too.
     
  21. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,855
    On Windows I let MSE/Defender run, it's good enough for me and doesn't tick me off with false positives, nags, popups. If it didn't exist, I wouldn't use an AV on Windows.
    I don't run one on Linux.

    So, probably "both" or "no".
     
  22. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,222
    Yes on my Win 8 and Vista machines, no on my 3 XP old computers. I don't consider 'real time' my first line of defense but it is often useful to label malware if it is detected.
     
  23. clubhouse1

    clubhouse1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2013
    Posts:
    533
    Location:
    UK
    No, after 6 years of using either Avast or Avira and I only ever had the AV warn me about events I had expected it to....I do very little in terms of online purchasing and even then I only use a top up visa card with enough on it to make my purchase....No online banking and I don't have anything on the computer that I would be horrified at anyone else seeing.
     
  24. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,829
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    Good point, Osaban. I don't consider them 'first line' either, but I continue to run VIPRE and MBAM.
    Sandboxie relegates them both to 'accessory' status. :cool:
     
  25. noone_particular

    noone_particular Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Posts:
    3,798
    I stopped using a real time AV in early 2006. About 2 years later, I stopped using installed manual scanners. Other than checking files at VirusTotal, I haven't used any kind of AV on this PC.
     
Loading...