Do you have System Restore enabled?

Discussion in 'polls' started by adam993, Apr 25, 2011.

?

Do you have System restore enabled?

  1. Yes

    77 vote(s)
    44.3%
  2. No

    64 vote(s)
    36.8%
  3. No, I use other ISR software (e.g:Rollback Rx)

    33 vote(s)
    19.0%
  1. guest

    guest Guest

    No, a system image is way better. I bet Win8 will have it built-in.
     
  2. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,738
    It's built-in ever since Vista Business.
     
  3. guest

    guest Guest

    Wow sorry. Using XP for so long that I forgot about my Vista/Seven experience. Yea, they got it built-in.

    What I read was that Win8 will probably come with a system reset feature, something similar to what Deep Freeze does. That's useful and better than the old system restore as well.

    But I guess all is determined by the needs.
     
  4. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,960
    Still handy at times in XP Pro ... extricated from a tricky situation recently, after trying to install Livescribe Desktop. Apparently it need .Net Framework.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. pegr

    pegr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Posts:
    2,281
    Location:
    UK
    Same here.
     
  6. mrgigabyte

    mrgigabyte Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Posts:
    125
    i have also
     
  7. manOFpeace

    manOFpeace Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2003
    Posts:
    717
    Location:
    Ireland
    I do, one would be a fool not to especially as it does 99% of the work itself.
     
  8. AlexC

    AlexC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Posts:
    1,288
    No. I prefer to imaging software.
     
  9. guest

    guest Guest

    Is not even in my system anymore, Windows XP
    had to do some serious dissecting of Windows
    along with a bunch of other bout-ware it comes with

    Someday I guess I will have to start on Windows 7
    or just go to Linux:rolleyes: :rolleyes:
     
  10. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,738
    One would be a fool to completely rely on it for system backup.
     
  11. PJC

    PJC Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Posts:
    2,959
    Location:
    Internet
    or Crazy enough...:D
     
  12. I've enabled SR but never use it. Paragon Backup & Recovery 2011 Free works every time.
     
  13. Aurora2me

    Aurora2me Guest

    Have been using Paragon Backup and Recovery suite for a while now, but system restore will still be enabled anyway.(mainly because it don't bother me at all) .But every month before system defragmation SR points will be erased.
     
  14. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,037
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I turn it off always and use Acronis True Image 2010 on my old laptop with standard HDD but I'm going to try it on my new Laptop with 2 SSD's and hope for the best! I did a back up on my new Laptop with ATI 2010 without problems but time will tell if it works if I need to do a restore! I will update if I do!

    TH
     
  15. manOFpeace

    manOFpeace Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2003
    Posts:
    717
    Location:
    Ireland
    You peops must be lacking if you need more than System Restore to keep your computers sweet.

    SR has always kept me safe and I can rely on it completely without an army of backups. o_O
     
    Last edited: May 28, 2011
  16. PJC

    PJC Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Posts:
    2,959
    Location:
    Internet
    Most members do Not consider System Restore reliable enough...;)

    And if something goes wrong what will you do? o_O
    Do you exclusively/solely rely on System Restore ? o_O

    You do Not use the Windows Back Up either, do you? o_O
     
  17. Spysnake

    Spysnake Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Posts:
    189
    I have it enabled, but I never use it. Maybe it could be used as a last resort if something goes very wrong, as I'm kinda lazy on backups. However, I have used it once on Windows XP and it didn't work at all. I guess I'm one of them who likes to keep things on for compability (as someone mentioned Windows Updates).
     
  18. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,738
    System Restore is not reliable for backup. It only backs up critical areas of your system, not the entire thing. On restore, it leaves behind junk. The restore points are corrupted more often than images. Frequently targeted by malware, which can easily disable it. Useless if system can't boot.

    Disk imaging backs up your entire system, and restores it to the exact same state as before. You can boot from cd, usb, or different part of hard drive to access it.
     
  19. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,683
    No, Macrium Reflect takes care of all my restore needs. :D
     
  20. jadinolf

    jadinolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,045
    Location:
    Southern California
    I have 5 computers. I used to do System Restore every Sunday morning.

    After this, for months, when I needed it, it usually failed to restore.

    OK, it's my fault....what did I do wrongo_O?
     
  21. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,738
    What you did wrong is trusting it. Use a disk imaging program instead, and you'll experience far less problems.
     
  22. karad

    karad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Posts:
    245
    I agree with J_L, jadinolf:

    using SR so many times just left a mountain of debris and corruption which your pc could not withstand anymore.

    I completely agree with those who do NOT use SR in Windows, in fact I always disabled it completely since XP days, as i do now with win7 Backup methods as well: why would one restore a partially corrupted image or backup an image taking three hours to be done?

    As SR is concerned the security side regarding virus,trojans etc.- which could align in copies- is also a very heavy argument against its use.

    Why settle for third best? Providing you got an ext.media for storage of images, there are a host of very good ,free and reliable programs to use....

    In order of preference: Paragon Backup&Restore, Clonezilla (or Redo),Macrium etc. all free and reliable.
     
  23. Rules

    Rules Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Posts:
    614
    Location:
    EARTH
    No i don't use it, take some useless resource in my opinion.

    Rules.
     
  24. chew

    chew Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    515
    Location:
    GeordieLand.
    Yes, I have it enabled but may look for something easier to use later.
     
  25. Rilla927

    Rilla927 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    1,740
    No, I have image software instead.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.