do you have ESET Windows 10 Update installed ?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by mantra, Sep 21, 2015.

  1. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,149
    Hi

    today running autoruns with the option check virus total and submit unknow images , i found out to have
    ESET Windows 10 Update installed on my computer

    it stats via task scheduler , and it's flagged by 2 antivirus as malware

    the program is update.exe and should be located C:\Program Files\Common Files\AV\ (the av version) for example C:\Program Files\common files\av\eset smart security 6.0\upgrade.exe

    Product name ESET Windows 10 Update
    Company name ESET
    File description ESET Windows 10 Update
    Legal copyright Copyright (c) ESET, spol. s r.o. 1992-2015. All rights reserved.
    Product version 1.0.0.0
    File version 1.0.0.0

    i have found this
    http://www.freefixer.com/library/file/upgrade.exe-197653/
    and
    https://www.reasoncoresecurity.com/upgrade.exe-ce352f79f6a64c45952a5a5450604ce840e69fd0.aspx

    thanks
     
  2. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    5,069
    Maybe that's a file ESET uses in case you decide to upgrade to Windows 10? Maybe some compatibility update for ESET?
     
  3. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,149
    yes maybe, have you it on your pc?
     
  4. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    5,069
    I don't have ESET installed at the moment. Maybe somebody else could check it out.
     
  5. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,149
    hi
    if it could be helpful from Eset
     
  6. harsha_mic

    harsha_mic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Posts:
    791
    Location:
    India
    I have Eset AV 9 Beta installed in my machine (Win 10).
    How ever, i can only check tonight after 10 PM IST...
     
  7. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,149
    hi
    but i guess it a program installed by eset only eset v7 or v6 or older
    thanks
     
  8. harsha_mic

    harsha_mic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Posts:
    791
    Location:
    India
    thanks you are right.
    Sorry i missed 6.0 in your first post..

    B/w how come you are using such an old version? Any reason?
     
  9. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,149
    hi
    i have recently update to v8 , even it's buggy under w10 :(
     
Loading...