Do I really need a firewall ?

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by CartoonBoy, Apr 15, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. CartoonBoy

    CartoonBoy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Posts:
    1,136
    Location:
    32? 56'S 151? 44'E
    I presumed a firewall is used if you use a server is that right ?

    Also, if I was to install Kerio firewall, will it run O.K with NOD32 ?

    o_O
     
  2. abhi_mittal

    abhi_mittal Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Posts:
    887
    Location:
    Bangalore
    Every PC that is connected to the internet frequently needs a firewall.
    Kerio works fine with NOD32.
     
  3. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    100% you need a firewall, and one that has visual outbound alets to let you know what is trying to access the internet FROM your computer. A firewall effectively makes your computer invisible while on the internet.


    You shouldn’t have an issue at all.

    Being that you are questioning basic security, may I suggest that you take a look HERE. As well there are discussions HERE and even more HERE.

    Hope this helps...

    Let us know how you go.

    Cheers :D
     
  4. CartoonBoy

    CartoonBoy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Posts:
    1,136
    Location:
    32? 56'S 151? 44'E
    GEEZ! That was quick!!

    Thanks abhi ;)

    :D
     
  5. CartoonBoy

    CartoonBoy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Posts:
    1,136
    Location:
    32? 56'S 151? 44'E
    Tops! thanks Blackspear I will have a look at them points of interest and let you know how I went ;)
     
  6. abhi_mittal

    abhi_mittal Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Posts:
    887
    Location:
    Bangalore
  7. mercurie

    mercurie A Friendly Creature

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Posts:
    2,442
    Location:
    Sky over the Wilders Forest
    Very Excellent Link Creature ABHI. Good Read. ;)
     
  8. abhi_mittal

    abhi_mittal Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Posts:
    887
    Location:
    Bangalore
  9. CartoonBoy

    CartoonBoy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Posts:
    1,136
    Location:
    32? 56'S 151? 44'E
    Yeh, it's all new to me so this info is so helpful. I'm now ' firewalled ' and have a greater sense of security which makes me very comfortable.

    I'm A BUZZ!! Thanks to The Forces here @ Wilders, it's no wonder I rant and rave to my network about this site.

    Thanks Gang.

    -CB
     
  10. GForce

    GForce Guest

    Hi CartoonBoy, :)

    So which one did you settle on, if I may?


    GF
     
  11. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    if you decided on kerio make sure its 4.1.3 the newer one has much better protection than 4.1.2 against most attacks
     
  12. no13

    no13 Retired Major Resident Nutcase

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Posts:
    1,327
    Location:
    Wouldn't YOU like to know?
    and if kerio v2... then v2.1.4 'coz except for an insecure remote admin feature... it's much lighter and hence more desirable over v2.1.5
     
  13. Arup

    Arup Guest

    After lots of thinking and procrastination, I finally decided to install Kerio 4.13, specially after Kerodo's recommendation, so far works real nice, no surprises, Kerio 2.15 would not work with Treewalk DNS server, this one does, only negative point so far is that it is slowed down the access to the LAN from the host PC, clients can access the host LAN without any problems though.
     
  14. abhi_mittal

    abhi_mittal Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Posts:
    887
    Location:
    Bangalore
    Same problem here.
    Does version 2.1.5 to slow down the LAN access?
    Also, suggest some free firewall apps for me...
    Thanks
    Abhishek
     
  15. Stephanos G.

    Stephanos G. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Posts:
    720
    Location:
    Cyprus
    My opinion is to use NOD32 2.50 beta plus Microsoft antispyware and/or Spybot tea time (try the new beta). All the firewalls slowdown the access to the LAN.
     
  16. Arup

    Arup Guest

    Abhi,

    No LAN or any other slowdowns with 2.15 but sadly it won't work in my system as it conflicts heavily with Treewalk DNS server, KPF4 has no such problems, I have solved the slow LAN access by host by specifying trusted rules for the host IP.
     
  17. nameless

    nameless Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Posts:
    1,184
    Not necessarily.
     
  18. no13

    no13 Retired Major Resident Nutcase

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Posts:
    1,327
    Location:
    Wouldn't YOU like to know?
  19. Diver

    Diver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Posts:
    1,444
    Location:
    Deep Underwater
    Everyone needs a firewall. However, it you have a router or a wireless access point, it probably already has a hardware firewall built in.

    If you run XP SP2, it has a decent built in firewall that will protect your PC form worms and other external attacks. Other firewalls have more features, but this is the easiest one to use of any that I know of.
     
  20. nameless

    nameless Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Posts:
    1,184
    I took for granted that we were talking about software firewalls here.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.