Do I Need Threatfire With Comodo V3?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by TerryWood, Dec 1, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TerryWood

    TerryWood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    703
    Hi All

    Advice please

    I have Win XPSP2 SafeSpace + Comodo v3 +Avast +Dropmyrights.

    Since comodo has a fully fledged HIPS (which I use), do you think I need Threatfire.

    I am anxious to reduce resource useage and unnecessary armour

    Thanks for your help
     
  2. davidw_426

    davidw_426 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Posts:
    37
    My personal opinion is if Comodo works well for you, you're pretty well protected and I don't see a need for Threatfire (both HIPS together may drive you nuts)
     
  3. solcroft

    solcroft Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Posts:
    1,639
    If you already use a program that warns you about (almost) EVERY action that a process tries to perform (Comodo), it stands to reason therefore you won't need one that selectively tries to identify and warn you ONLY about malicious actions (ThreatFire), assuming you're able to properly respond to Comodo's prompts.
     
  4. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    TerryWood,

    You are getting a mixed bag answer.

    A. Theoretically
    NO, you do not need TF, so I fully agree with Solcroft

    B. In practise
    Since you do not seem to know that you can obtain the same effects with Comodo's Defense+ as drop my rights, I am wondering what protection you are really getting out of Defense+. So learn how to use D+ and you can also get rid of drop my rights (for faster start of internet facing programs). I am guessing you use drop my rights for normal surfing and SafeSpace for the real dodgy surfing.

    Simularity of security soft and motor racing
    I occasionally race on a motorbike. It has only 100 HP on the rear wheel, but a nice high torque and low weight. I admit I have not ended first in the amateur races, but always ended up in the first six, beating guys on bikes with 167, 174, 181 and sometimes more horse power. I know my bike is weaker (like fi the defense of TF compared), but it drives so easy I get faster laptimes than those other guys with stronger machines (e.g. D+). Problem is in the amateur class we are driving, we do not have the skilss for good solid two wheel skids (like Rossi, Stoner or the Kentucky Kid). So with my limited skills (e.g. safety knowledge) the weaker bike actually performs better, because bike and driver are a good match. I think the same applied to D+. Its capabilities are not the subject of discussion, just the driving skills of the (wo)man behind the keyboard.

    Regards Kees
     
    Last edited: Dec 1, 2007
  5. Perman

    Perman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Posts:
    2,160
    Hi,

    TF will not drive you nuts with lots of pop ups, whereas CPF 3 with Defense+ will certainly produce tons of alerts(at least initially).

    If the presence of both does not slow down your system, IMO, it is a wise choice to keep both (free and excellent, plus covering from different angles).

    TF is probably the ONLY free behaviour blocker on market. Others are charging US$ 29.95-$39.95/year. such as AB, PRFC and Mamutu( oh, a bit OT).
     
  6. sunking

    sunking Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Posts:
    13
    Running programs with user priviliges is ALWAYS a good thing no matter what security software is in effect furthermore slow down by dropmyrights is absolutely negligible. Even better is a user account with SuDown.
     
  7. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    Hi,

    Look at what D+ protects, you can obtain same effect as dropmyright. With Sudown I would not use D+ at all, so agree

    Regards
     
  8. TerryWood

    TerryWood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    703
    Hi All

    Thanks for the responses. I think we can say that its "you pays your money ant takes your choice" from reading the replies

    Regards

    Terry
     
  9. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Do u need DMRs with SafeSpace, I guess NOT. Am I true?
     
  10. lucas1985

    lucas1985 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    France, May 1968
    Yes, SafeSpace has the option to limit rights alongside sandboxing.
     
  11. interact

    interact Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Posts:
    121
    Location:
    Paris
    I would recommend you only use Comodo V3 with the "Defense+ security level" disabled. The sheer amount of pop-ups caused by Comodo V3 will drive most sane people crazy!

    ~interact
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.