Do i need anything else security wise.

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by The Red Moon, Mar 24, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,871
    Hello and a very good evening to all wilders members.Hope everyone is well.
    I would like to know if my security is enough or can i add a little more just to put icing on the cake so to speak.

    My set-up is as my signature states and i would welcome any suggestions with full appreciation.
    Thank You.
     
  2. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    I would add EMET.
     
  3. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,871
    Thank you .I should add ive enabled the windows parental control feature and whitelisted my applications.
    Im running as a standard user also so whether i need EMET also is a matter of opinion.
     
  4. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    Do you have 32 bit or 64 bit OS? Also, is this a desktop with a modem/firewall connection to the internet or, for instance, a laptop that connects to public wifi? About the only other question I'd have is whether you have a backup/image strategy in place? Otherwise, looks pretty good.
     
  5. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,871
    hi,
    I have a 64bit OS.i use a laptop which uses a private network.(3g)here in the uk.I connect using a usb dongle.
    Yes i have several macrium and windows images saved to an external hard drive.
     
  6. KelvinW4

    KelvinW4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Posts:
    1,199
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    I guess that should be a fine setup, pretty light, strong and quiet.
     
  7. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,871
    I see your using a favourite of mine.CIS 6.
    Hows it going with that.?
     
  8. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,965
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    That's a fine setup. With sbie properly configured, your setup would be rock hard.;)
     
  9. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    An imaging program should be added. Windows own is fine.
     
  10. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,871
    Thank you amit.
    Although i havent used windows firewall in quite a while and ive heard it has improved in windows 7.
     
  11. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,871
    hello hammer.
    I am currently using macrium reflect and windows built in imaging software and i have several images created on an external hard drive.
     
  12. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    Beethoven1770:thumb: :thumb: :thumb:
     
  13. KelvinW4

    KelvinW4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Posts:
    1,199
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    It is very light and quiet:thumb:
     
  14. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,965
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    That's good practice. Gonna save you a lot of trouble.;)
     
  15. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,871
    I assume im good to go with the windows firewall.Ive been told its weak due to it having no outbound control but i dont consider that a major issue as long as bad stuff is kept out.:cool:
     
  16. CrusherW9

    CrusherW9 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    516
    Location:
    United States
    It actually does have outbound control, though not enabled by default. It just doesn't have a notifier.
     
  17. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,779
    There are quite a few 3rd party apps that make it a lot easier to deal with that. Check the Firewall forum....
     
  18. CrusherW9

    CrusherW9 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    516
    Location:
    United States
    Yup. I just meant that it doesn't have a built in one.
     
  19. AlexC

    AlexC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Posts:
    1,280
    It might be useful since you never know when some legit app you have installed in your computer try to send your information over the internet (those EULA´s that almost no one reads...). And maybe it can block (or not) some trojan you inadvertently bring to your computer.

    It´s not that hard to use. Here´s a tutorial:
    http://www.howtogeek.com/112564/how-to-create-advanced-firewall-rules-in-the-windows-firewall/

    It basically blocks every outbound connection by default, and the user should manually whitelist the apps he wants to grant internet access. Personally i like the approach.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.