do i have to format new hard drive?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by stephys, Jan 4, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. stephys

stephys Registered Member

undefinedundefinedI took out my old hard drive plugged in a new one, my computer auto detected the hd, the error message is disk boot drive error , i have gone to bios and changed the boot order, tried every order with no luck.
    Luck being the key word. I am self taught, as you may have noticed from the "plugged in a new one" ( the old hard drive worked but i wanted to start new)

do i have to FORMAT my new hard drive??
    any help out there, this website has helped me so much i have to thank everyone and HAPPY NEW YEAR

2. bigc73542

bigc73542 Retired Moderator

A new Hdd should come with software for formating the Hdd Some come with a cd and a floppy and some with just the cd but you can.t just "plugin" a new Hdd and just boot up.If your new drive didn't come with software contact the store where you got it and let them know you want the software that should have been with the drive

3. Notok

Notok Registered Member

If you are using this as a primary drive you can partition it and format with the Windows CD. If this is going to be a slave drive (secondary drive for storage) then you can go into the control panel > administrative tools > computer managment > storage > disk managment and create a partition and format from there. You will need to partition the disk before formatting, however.

4. bigc73542

bigc73542 Retired Moderator

That is why the factory software works much better, it is job specific that is all it does is format the new drive so all you have to do is install your OS, cuts out a few steps and makes it much easier with less chance for mistakes.

Last edited: Jan 4, 2005
  5. stephys