Do all Routers have this?

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by PJC, Aug 10, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. PJC

    PJC Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Posts:
    2,959
    Location:
    Internet
    I use a Linksys WAG200G with an ADSL+ connection
    When I Login to it, Linksys WAG200G
    has 'Disconnect' and 'Connect' buttons,
    as it is shown HERE.

    I'd like to ask:

    Do all Modem-Routers have these
    'Disconnect' and 'Connect' buttons?

    I am especially interesting in the NETGEAR Modem-Routers.

    If a member has a NETGEAR Modem-Router, please, upload an Image
    showing the respective 'Disconnect' and 'Connect' buttons.
     
  2. noblelord

    noblelord Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Posts:
    162
    Location:
    UK
    Netgear routers have a similar feature - will try and find a picture somewhere.
     
  3. YeOldeStonecat

    YeOldeStonecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Posts:
    2,345
    Location:
    Along the Shorelines somewhere in New England
    When setup for PPPoE...yes, as PPPoE is basically a dial up adapter.
    When setup for Obtain Auto/DHCP...it will often have release/renew
    When setup for static...obviously no.
     
  4. PJC

    PJC Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Posts:
    2,959
    Location:
    Internet
    Any Images, PLEASE...
     
  5. the_sly_dog

    the_sly_dog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Posts:
    297
    Location:
    The Heart Of London
  6. ABee

    ABee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Posts:
    330
  7. Searching_ _ _

    Searching_ _ _ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Posts:
    1,988
    Location:
    iAnywhere
    Does your router have a firewall?
     
  8. PJC

    PJC Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Posts:
    2,959
    Location:
    Internet
    Linksys WAG200G: NAT/SPI Firewall

    -Any IMAGES from NETGEAR or D-Link users, please?
    (showing the respective 'Disconnect' and 'Connect' buttons).
     
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2010
  9. YeOldeStonecat

    YeOldeStonecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Posts:
    2,345
    Location:
    Along the Shorelines somewhere in New England
    If it's a home grade router/gateway....it will have a firewall via NAT, that's how they work.
     
  10. YeOldeStonecat

    YeOldeStonecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Posts:
    2,345
    Location:
    Along the Shorelines somewhere in New England
    Dunno why you HAVE TO see it....but you can find this out by investing some time yourself....one source is www.netgear.com , look up the model you're interested in, and then go to the support section and review the user manual.

    Another way is to look for "router emulator" or various versions of emulator in Google
    http://www.google.com/search?q=netg...s=org.mozilla:en-US:official&client=firefox-a

    One good result is
    http://www.voiproblem.com/emulators/Netgear/
    Where you can look at the dg834 and other models and see and play with buttons to your hearts content.

    As mentioned above...PPPoE is a type of dial up adapter, logically you have connect and disconnect....the technology is really the same as your DUN in the dial up days with dial up modems.
     
  11. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,731
    Location:
    localhost
    Netgear routers have that option under the submenu "connection status" ("Router Statistics and Connection" menu).

    connection status.gif
     
  12. PJC

    PJC Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Posts:
    2,959
    Location:
    Internet
    Thank you!!! Really Appreciated!
     
  13. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,731
    Location:
    localhost
    You're welcome! :thumb:
     
  14. Searching_ _ _

    Searching_ _ _ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Posts:
    1,988
    Location:
    iAnywhere
    I don't see how NAT is a firewall.

    Saying NAT is a firewall is like saying a wrench is an oil change. A wrenchs' only function is to tighten things that are loose and loosen things that are tightened.
     
  15. YeOldeStonecat

    YeOldeStonecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Posts:
    2,345
    Location:
    Along the Shorelines somewhere in New England
    Incredibly poor attempt at an analogy with that wrench. Wow.

    Some script kiddie named PANG from China is running a tool against your home networks public IP address, attempting to connect to an RPC port and service of your computer so he can exploit you. However, since you have even some 39 dollar Nutgear router in place...he cannot, your little routers NAT is blocking his tool from connecting to your computer. Why can't he connect to you? Because the router with its NAT has effectively blocked his attempts at connecting to your computer, it has successfully protected your computer with its firewall.

    By default it blocks all 65,000 plus incoming ports, any/all nodes behind it are protected by default since they're on private IP addresses. A NAT router will provide a basic firewall against incoming traffic for all behind it, period.

    The common misconception is that firewalls must be bi-directional, and application aware. Not true. If you want the nagginess of a software firewall that covers incoming and outgoing...go for it. But a firewall can also be simple, hardware based, and a function of NAT, and simply hide all computers behind it from the internet side.
     
  16. Searching_ _ _

    Searching_ _ _ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Posts:
    1,988
    Location:
    iAnywhere
    A knife doesn't have to be sharp to cut. :D

    I asked myself, "What is NAT? Is it a Firewall?"

    It is the Job of NAT to rewrite the source or destination IP addresses, the TCP/UDP port numbers and the checksums of IP packets.
    It was created to solve the problem of too many computers and not enough IP's to go around, not as a firewall.

    A firewall's basic task is to regulate some of the flow of traffic between computer networks of different trust levels. NAT doesn't have a clue about what trust is.

    Firewall - Wikipedia

    Conclusion, NAT is not a firewall.
     
  17. YeOldeStonecat

    YeOldeStonecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Posts:
    2,345
    Location:
    Along the Shorelines somewhere in New England
    Not the correct conclusion. It's the result of NAT which gives basic firewall protection. No traffic is allowed inbound to the computers unless it's a return from an originating internal source, or the result of port forwarding.

    Now...if you actually read, and more importantly...understood...the wiki article that you linked to (not that wiki is the ultimate authority, it's only as accurate as the people who contribute to and monitor it..which oft is in err)...you'd notice that under your "Firewall" wiki page, there is a section title called "TYPES". Under that title of "Types"...(implying types of firewalls..as the subject of this page is firewalls) there is a paragraph for each "type".
    I'll mimic the setup right here.
    Types (of firewalls)
    "There are several classifications of firewalls depending on where the communication is taking place, where the communication is intercepted and the state that is being traced."
    Lets review that above sentence again....
    "There are several classifications of firewalls <==key words.
    Network layer and packet filters <this is one of two you are hung up on>
    Application-layer<this is the other one you're hung up on>
    Proxies yes proxies can fall under this category too
    Network address translation And the most basic type, often done in hardware form via routers that run in gateway mode (such as your typical home grade router) Whomp...there it is!

    Your project for the week...go call alllllll the router manufacturers out there (that's quite a long list..you might want to take 2 to 3 weeks to do this) and tell them they are wrong.

    No wait..they actually are correct!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.