DNSCrypt & Linux

Discussion in 'all things UNIX' started by Infected, Aug 21, 2015.

  1. Infected

    Infected Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Posts:
    665
    I'm trying to change my resolver name on Linux Mint. I run this Sudo cmd..

    sudo dnscrypt-proxy --ephemeral-keys --resolver-name=cisco, but I get an error.
    [INFO] - [cisco] does not support DNS Security Extensions
    [INFO] - [cisco] does not support Namecoin domains
    [WARNING] - [cisco] logs your activity - a different provider might be better a choice if privacy is a concern
    [NOTICE] Starting dnscrypt-proxy 1.6.0
    [INFO] Ephemeral keys enabled - generating a new seed
    [INFO] Done
    [ERROR] Unable to bind (UDP) [Address already in use

    Thanks
     
  2. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,698
    Do you have a DNS service already running? Something holding port 53? Check with netstat -tulpan.
    Mrk
     
  3. Infected

    Infected Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Posts:
    665
    Yes it was running illl check
     
  4. AutoCascade

    AutoCascade Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2014
    Posts:
    626
    Location:
    United States
  5. Infected

    Infected Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Posts:
    665
    I had it working thru dnscrypt-fr, i want to change it to cisco opendns, but not sure how.
     
  6. UnknownK

    UnknownK Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Posts:
    160
    Location:
    Unknown
    Try changing the resolver name in /etc/default/dnscrypt-proxy

    You can use nano editor for editing files in terminal.
    Type: $ sudo nano /etc/default/dnscrypt-proxy

    Don't forget to restart the service after that. I don't know how to restart a service in Mint. Try this $ sudo service dnscrypt-proxy restart. If that doesn't work just restart the computer.
     
  7. Infected

    Infected Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Posts:
    665
    Thanks, this helps out a lot. I usually just restart the network. $ service network-manager restart.
     
  8. amarildojr

    amarildojr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Posts:
    1,989
    Location:
    Brasil
    Isn't Mint 17 using systemd? If so, "service" should no longer work. Instead, using "systemctl restart NetworkManager" should be the way to go.
     
  9. UnknownK

    UnknownK Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Posts:
    160
    Location:
    Unknown
  10. amarildojr

    amarildojr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Posts:
    1,989
    Location:
    Brasil
  11. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,855
    Mint 17 is based on 14.04 not 15.04
     
Loading...