DNS crypt service

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by bberkey1, Dec 21, 2014.

  1. bberkey1

    bberkey1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Posts:
    225
    Location:
    United States
    I've been testing DNScrypt interface from simon clausen and had a question:

    When I have the interface open, two processes: dnscrpty-proxy.exe*32 and dnscrypt-winservicemgr.exe*32 are seen running the task manager.

    When I close the interface the latter disappears but the former remains. My question is, when I close the interface, the proxy still runs, so I should be protected by dnscrypt as the proxy service is running correct? I do not need to open the service manager each time I need to use the internet right?
     
  2. syrog

    syrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2013
    Posts:
    30
  3. bberkey1

    bberkey1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Posts:
    225
    Location:
    United States
    Hmm seem to be stuck. Followed the steps ( I have 64OS and added the exe to the x86 folder) but the elevated CMD keeps saying

    'c:\program' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
    operable program or batch file.
     
  4. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    Put quotations around the command, CMD doesn't like spaces.
     
  5. bberkey1

    bberkey1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Posts:
    225
    Location:
    United States
    Still a no go, put the quotations, but it still tells me it's not a recognized internal or external command
     
  6. bberkey1

    bberkey1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Posts:
    225
    Location:
    United States
    Ok, so I followed the instructions from github and now have it installed. I placed the 127.0.0.1 as my preferred and the instructions say place whatever DNS you wish for alternate, so can I do just that? I mean will DNScrypt work with the 8.8.8.8 of Google DNS if it's in the alternate server?
     
  7. bberkey1

    bberkey1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Posts:
    225
    Location:
    United States
    So with DNScrypt installed I switched to the 127.0.0.1 server, but I ran gibsons research DNS benchmark and the 208.67.222.222 and 208.67.220.220 open DNS servers are about 8 places higher than the proxy server. I guess my question is; be switching to the proxy, will there need to be a sacrifice in overall speed?
     
  8. Yuki2718

    Yuki2718 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2014
    Posts:
    1,257
    I agree with you, GUI is almost waste of resource for DNS Crypt because once you set up, you rarely need to configure it.
    As long as Google DNS is in the list (I forgot, and currently not running DNS crypt).
    There'll be some performance down, but I don't think it is noticeable unless you forced TCP.
     
Loading...