dllhost and sandboxie

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by mick92z, Mar 14, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mick92z

    mick92z Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Posts:
    499
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Hi today i installed several windows updates. Now when i open firefox, I get the sandboxie message, " due to restrictions dllhost cannot access the internet "
    Anyone else getting this. Thanks

    EDIT
    I removed an update for I.E 10 ( which was optional ) and the problem seems to have gone.
    I should not have installed the update, as it was not already ticked. My fault
     
    Last edited: Mar 14, 2013
  2. CrusherW9

    CrusherW9 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    516
    Location:
    United States
    My laptop with Win 7 is fully updated, including the updates form yesterday, excluding the v8 remote desktop client update, and I haven't gotten that issue.
     
  3. mick92z

    mick92z Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Posts:
    499
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Thanks for the reply. I had several important updates, but two were not ticked. I installed the other updates yesterday. I scanned again and got two important updates today, so i ticked and installed. Thats when i got the dllhost alert.
    I removed the I.E 10 update, and all seems well. Now when i scan for updates i get nothing
    Cheers :)
     
  4. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    7,293
    Location:
    England
    Did you have Drop Rights enabled?
     
  5. huntnyc

    huntnyc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    977
    Location:
    Brooklyn, USA
    I can confirm the same behavior as OP on my Windows 7 Pro 64bit laptop running 3.76 SBIE and IE 10 update. I just allowed the file access to Internet I think.

    Gary
     
  6. mick92z

    mick92z Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Posts:
    499
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Hello Stapp, no i didn't

    Ok, that sounds good.
    I do not have I.E 10 ( i have 9) So i should not have installed the update.
    Thanks everyone :thumb:
     
  7. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    3,770
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    I just ran WU in W7 to see what it shows, I am still using IE9, WU offers IE9 update KB2809289, Is that the one that caused this situation for you? I am not being offered any other IE related updates other than the IE10 install

    Bo
     
  8. mick92z

    mick92z Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Posts:
    499
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Hi Bo, it was definitely not that update. The problem started after the I.E 10 install and kb2807986.
    The problem must have been the I.E 10, because all was well after removal.
    kb2807986 is still installed.
    I have had video/sound problems too today. This was rectified with a system restore.
    After a system restore the IE 10 update has reappeared when i check for updates.
    Anyway all is well now. Cheers
     
  9. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    3,770
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Thanks Mick. I was reading about kb2807986, here:

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=343581

    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2807986

    It seems to me that you are right, installing that update caused your issue. What I get out of the MS link is that to avoid issues, KB2552343 has to be installed prior to KB2807986. I searched my PC and found the update. Check yours, you probably don't have it.

    Anyway, I am going to wait for a few months before I update my IE9 to 10. I ll probably will attempt to install kb2807986 in a few days.

    Bo
     
  10. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,959
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    FYI. KB2552343

    Time-out error occurs when you install a Windows Update package that contains drivers on a computer that is running Windows 7 or Windows Server 2008 R2.
     
  11. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    3,770
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    I had read that link but thanks.

    Bo
     
  12. merisi

    merisi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Posts:
    316
    I've been getting this problem as well but only while using the BBC iPlayer website. I've not experienced any negative effect apart from the Sbie alert so I clicked to hide the alert instead and I've experienced no problems since.
     
  13. lws

    lws Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Posts:
    196

    I as well had the same problem with dllhost.exe while using Pale moon and or Comodo Dragon while sandboxed especially with the ESPN sports site. Sandboxie would go nuts alerting me to add dllhost to internet access and start/run access.
    I also had just installed iexplorer 10 a couple of days ago and noticed the problem started shortly thereafter. I uninstalled iexplorer10 and have reverted back to iexplorer 9 and no longer have the dllhost.exe problem with sandboxie.
    (I don't use iexplorer anyway so it's not a big deal with me)
     
    Last edited: Mar 16, 2013
  14. huntnyc

    huntnyc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    977
    Location:
    Brooklyn, USA
    Went back to IE 9 as well to get rid of the dllhost.exe issue and all is well. It is not my primary browser either.

    Gary
     
  15. AlexC

    AlexC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Posts:
    1,280
    Same problem here, on Chrome, after the IE 10 update.

    Just clicked to hide the alert, and i have no problems since.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.