Display settings not sticking

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by AshG, May 15, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. AshG

    AshG Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2005
    Posts:
    206
    Location:
    East TN
    Display settings not sticking, v2.5

    I have been having trouble with the use of NOD32 graphics recently. While the main window will appear using eset's graphics, notification windows and scanning windows appear in the standard Windows style. I have checked the settings and found "Use of Graphics" to be set to On. If I disable the setting then re-enable it, all windows return to normal. Until I reboot, that is, and the same game happens all over again.

    It's a minor niggle and not a showstopper for me by any means, but it is a little annoying. Any thoughts?
     
    Last edited: May 15, 2005
  2. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Hi AshG, welcome to Wilders.

    Can you try downloading a FRESH copy of Nod32 from www.nod32.com

    Uninstall your current version.

    Remove the Eset Folder from C Drive> Program Files.

    Install the FRESH copy of Nod32 that you downloaded above.

    Let us know how you go…

    Cheers :D
     
  3. AshG

    AshG Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2005
    Posts:
    206
    Location:
    East TN
    Thanks for the advice!

    I failed to mention earlier that the computer in question is only 3 days young with a fresh install of everything. Still, i took your advice and tried a fresh installation and have ended up with the same result. I have an image attached.

    The setting loss seems to be happening at boot or shut down. Turning OFF the custom graphics, minimizing and reopening the panel, then turning the settings back ON seems to remedy the problem temporarily. I have even shut down the Control Center, waited a while, then turned it back on and the setting has stuck. Only when I boot (or reboot) does it default back. The main control screen still functions properly.

    The following is the system information gathered by the program:
    I am also currently running Sunbelt Counterspy as resident. Drivers are the latest official nForce4 mainboard and GeForce graphic drivers from nVidia.

    If there is any more information you need, please let me know. Thanks for your help!
     

    Attached Files:

  4. AshG

    AshG Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2005
    Posts:
    206
    Location:
    East TN
    Any advice on hwo to deal with the situation?
    I'm wondering if it could be a registry setting not sticking... which key controls that function?
     
  5. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,722
    Location:
    Texas
    Check your acceleration settings in the NVidia control panel and see if that helps at all.
    Are you using a crt or lcd monitor?
     
  6. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    Which NVIDIA Graphics card do you have?
     
  7. AshG

    AshG Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2005
    Posts:
    206
    Location:
    East TN
    Ok, you two just made me think of something.... I didn't notice this happenning until I installed Coolbits... hrm, wonder if there's a correlation?

    The card in question is an ASUS 5900XT, identified by the Display Properties as a PCX5900. I'm uninstalling/reinstalling the video drivers to kill Coolbits, here's hoping it works.
     
  8. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    Go ahead and do that. I have an Asus FX5900 non-XT, and it doesnt have this problem :)

    Do tell us how it goes :)
     
  9. AshG

    AshG Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2005
    Posts:
    206
    Location:
    East TN
    Reinstalled the display drivers, sans Coolbits, and it's running like a dream. No image problems!

    odd how that one reg file was interefering with everything, though.... Any thoughts on that?
     
  10. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    Display drivers have lots of registry entrenches....very difficult to understand those kinds of issues.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.