Diskeeper, and TI's incremental imaging

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by D Killeen, Jun 19, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. D Killeen

    D Killeen Guest

    Ghost is the very last Norton app that is on my computer, and it looks like with TI I can get rid of it too. So far Acronis has worked flawlessly. My system is a simple setup with a Primary and Secondary HD on a Promise controller card, and other drives on the motherboard's IDE connectors. One of these other drives is a drive drawer. I image to a HD that is plugged into the drive drawer. Very fast, and with the drive drawer I don't have to worry about my backups always plugged in to my computer.

    I do have a couple of questions.

    I use Diskeeper's "Set it and Forget it" mode of defragging my working drives. I think I read somewhere that the defrag affects the way that TI selects files for incremental backups. Since my HDs are defragged on demand will incremental backups work as they should?

    Ghost required that to use the emergency floppy the images had to be on a FAT32 formatted partition. I'd much rather have my image HD formatted NTFS. Can TI read images from an NTFS partition when booted from the emergency CD?

    That's all I can think of right now. Thanks

    dk
     
  2. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello D Killeen,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    When you defragment the drive the data is moved from one sector to another. Aconis True Image will see that the data on the sector has changed and will include the content of the sector to the image archive. The only problem that defragmenting may result in is that after you defragment the drive the incremental will be as large as the full backup.

    As for the image storage, you can place it on FAT or NTFS partition wihtout any difference. Please note that if you store the image to FAT32 partition you may obtain several image files because of the file size limit of 2Gb that exists for FAT32.

    Thank you.
    --
    Ilya Toytman
     
  3. D Killeen

    D Killeen Guest

    Thank you

    D Killeen
     
  4. wdormann

    wdormann Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Posts:
    480
    Unless your computer usage patterns are very unusual, this level of defragmentation is quite unnecessary.

    A couple times a year should suffice.
     
  5. D Killeen

    D Killeen Guest

    Only defrag a couple of times a year? I probably do defrag too often, but I don't think I want to do it a couple of times a year either. Thanks though

    D Killeen
     
  6. Radical_53

    Radical_53 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2
    I do use the same combination, DiskKeeper and a schedulded Acronis backup. No problems so far, the last 8 or 9 incremental backup were quite small in size, so it seems to work the way it should.
     
  7. Caranthir

    Caranthir Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Posts:
    21
    The size limit on FAT32 is 4 GB. 2 GB is the FAT16 limit.
     
  8. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Caranthir,

    Thank you for the correction, my mistake. Of course, you are right. FAT32 limitation is 4Gb.

    Thank you.
    --
    Ilya Toytman
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.