diskeeper 11 problem with safe remove

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by lodore, Oct 18, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    Hi, when i use a usb device defrag it then when i want to safe remove it it says cannot remove right now a program is still using it. this happerned with my usb pen and i ended up just pulling it out. but this time its my sony mp3 player and i dont want to dmage it or the data. so how can i get diskeeper to stop accessing it? i stopped the defrag and turned off automatic defraging for that volume but it still wont safe remove and same error. there must be a way?

    anyideas?

    anyone using diskeeper 11 having this problem also?

    i had to stop the diskeeper service in services to safe remove it. i need a real solution now IMO.

    thanks in advance
    lodore
     
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2006
  2. GideonD

    GideonD Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Posts:
    150
    I've had the same problem and I'm looking into it as well. I've set the service to disable and manually start it when needed to manually defrag. I had it set to auto and had automatic defragging enabled but this was causing stuttering in a few games. Stutter disappeared when I shut off Diskeeper. I may revert to V10 and see it problems persist.
     
  3. GideonD

    GideonD Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Posts:
    150
    Ah, I think I fixed your issue. New volume detection must be disabled in DK configuration to keep DK from messing with your removable media. A feature that causes such issues should be disabled by default, not enabled. I still can't use InvisiTask though without game stutter. Doesn't happen all the time but when it does I can check DK and see that it's active.
     
  4. GideonD

    GideonD Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Posts:
    150
    InvisiTask doesn't seem to be the culprit of my game stutters after all. I have to lower Hardware acceleration to get them to clear out, even though it's run fine for several months now at maximum acceleration. I'm wondering if installing IE7 tweaked something in DirectX that is causing me issues.
     
  5. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    i disable the new volume detection but it still happerns.
    im glad its not only happerning to me.
     
  6. GideonD

    GideonD Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Posts:
    150
    Did you reboot after disabling it and then try it? I tried a couple times with no issues now, but I'll keep testing it to see if it reoccurs.
     
  7. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006

    no i didnt reboot after.
    i dont really reboot much because i dont need to.
     
  8. GideonD

    GideonD Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Posts:
    150
    never hurts to try that. It'll make sure that if it's already accessing any removable media it should not do so upon reboot.
     
  9. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006

    i just used safe remove today and it worked perfectly woot!
     
  10. GideonD

    GideonD Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Posts:
    150
    Yeah I've done some more testing and no more problems so far.
     
  11. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    i might buy that version as an upgrade to my current version 10 pro license now that problem is fixed.
     
  12. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I also have this problem and did what you guys tried and I still have the problem:(

    I have contacted Diskeeper Support with a link to this thread so I will wait till I here back from them ;)

    Cheers,

    TH
     
  13. GideonD

    GideonD Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Posts:
    150
    Check your DK settings when the drive is plugged in. If automatic is enabled on the pen drive disable it manually. It may not be seeing it as a 'New Volume' if you drive was plugged in before disabling the setting and already set to automatic.

    So disable new volume detection, plug in your pen drives that you've already used on it and make sure they are set to have automatic defrag disabled in the main window. Then reboot the PC and see if the problem persists.
     
  14. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Still have the problem :( Forgot to say it is the 2007 Premier Version.
     

    Attached Files:

  15. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    And this!
     

    Attached Files:

  16. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006

    it happerned to me a while after i turned off the new volume detection but today suddenly it allowed me to eject all my usb pens and usb hard drive with no problem so its just weird also i got a different message when i had the problem.
     
  17. GideonD

    GideonD Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Posts:
    150
    Ever had any issues with it before? I have a Lexar Secure Jumpdrive that gives me that exact message every time I eject it. I have to safely remove a second time and it works fine. Only does it on my PC not on any others I've tried it on. And this is from way before I ever used Diskeeper.
     
  18. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Hi GideonD

    I just found out that Lexar has a recall on the Lexar Drives have a look at this page!!

    http://www.lexar.com/jdrecall/index.html

    Also Diskeeper Support Contacted me and they said to do the same thing we are Doing Here to fix the problem!


    TH
     
  19. GideonD

    GideonD Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Posts:
    150
    Unfortunately my model isn't one of those listed. I've never had a major issue with it. It is a bit tricky though. I have to safely remove twice to get it out of the system. Also when I delete files from it the disk space is not recovered. I have to quick format it in order to get my space back.
     
  20. GideonD

    GideonD Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Posts:
    150
    Oh also, I found out installing DK 2007 Pro Premier on another machine, that if you choose to not enable automatic defragging during the installation proceedure then the option that is causing this problem will be off by default. Then you just enable the automatic features for the drives you want.
     
  21. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Thanks for the info!

    Cheers,

    TH
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.