disk to disk copy

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by redmike, Jan 4, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. redmike

    redmike Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Posts:
    61
    Hi,

    I have 250gb external hard drive and an 80gb internal and can make disk to disk copies from the internal to the external without any problems using Acronis 11.

    The only problem is that the copy uses all 250gb of my external drive :-(

    Is there a way around this?

    thanks,

    Mike

    Windows XP S2
     
  2. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    If you mean that the 250G drive now shows as only 80Gb when you used the Clone feature then here's how to get back the missing space, if you've now replaced the 80Gb with the 250Gb and you are booting off the 250G:
    ================================
    If you have already cloned/restored your drive and just want to regain the missing (unallocated) space proceed as follows:
    1. Make the bootable True Image Rescue cd, if you have not already done so.
    2. Boot with it and from its main menu choose Manage Acronis Secure Zone.
    3. Create an SZ of any size less than the missing unallocated space. Do not accept the default to activate the Startup Recovery Manager.
    4. OK back to the main menu.
    5. Go right back into the Manage ASZ.
    6. Choose to Delete the SZ.
    7. When asked what to do with the space, accept the default to append it to the existing partition.
    8. Back out to the Main Menu, Exit the process, quickly remove the CD and reboot the system (if it doesn't self reboot).
    ====================================
     
  3. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    Using the TI Imaging/backup option, you can create an archive image of your current system and the image file will consume only about 60 percent of your currently used space. Suggest you tickmark the "disk" backup option as illustrated by my backup guide links below. Perform the "disk" backup will give you all you need to completely restore your system in the event of drive failure, etc.
     
  4. redmike

    redmike Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Posts:
    61
    thank you DwnNdrty and GroverH !

    My reason for making a disk to disk copy rather than cloning an image is that I thought that it may be more reliable?

    Like many others, when I clone an image I get a message saying 'completed successfully' but when I veryify the image - it fails.

    I simply want to have a reliable back up without using the whole of a 250GB drive to store less than 40-50GB of content.

    Mike
     
  5. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    In Acronis speak, you cannot Clone an Image. You either Clone or you Image. The latter is also referred to as Backup. So what you want to do is Image. The internal may have some errors on it. It doesn't take much to "throw off" True Image. So do a chkdsk /r on the internal drive then after that, try making the Image again. Also if you have GoBack or InCd running, disable those.
     
  6. cmyaucm

    cmyaucm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Posts:
    3
    Hi, redmike, please see thread "to buy or not to buy". Think I have the same concern when I used Acronis cloning the first time.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.