Disk Director no longer recognises Drives

Discussion in 'Acronis Disk Director Suite' started by zooburner, Mar 2, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. zooburner

    zooburner Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Posts:
    43
    Location:
    England
    Hiya there

    I have just upgraded from and Intel motherboard to an Abit 35E Pro XE, on using DD it does not recognise any of my internal drives at all with the DOS boot up disk It only recognises my external USB drive, and yes The BIOS is set up properlyto detect them. Also (though i'll write it in the TI forum ) True Image 10 has also stopped recognising the drives in the DOS boot up disk (the trial of TI 2009 boot up disk does recognise them though).

    What is annoying about this is that Image for DOS, G-Parted, Copywipe, KillDisk, (the last 3 freeware) ALL recognise ALL the disks !!

    I can understand this to a degree as TI10 (though my even older version of image for DOS does) is now an older program, but that DD10 does not recognise them as a current release is outrageous


    Anyone any suggestions, fact is they should work, others have been able to make them work!!

    zoo
     
  2. XIII

    XIII Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Posts:
    452
    Contact Acronis via the LiveChat function on their website and kindly ask them for the newest build of DD (newer than the latest one for general download).

    That worked for me to get DD10 working with the ICH10R controller on my P45 board.
     
  3. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    The Safe Mode version (DOS-based) of DD should recognize your drives. The Full Mode version (the default) is Linux-based and doesn't include the drivers for newer hardware. Image for DOS (for example) accesses the hardware through the computer's BIOS (just like DD Safe Mode does). Because of this, it's able to span a lot more hardware generations. However, BIOS access is usually much slower than direct access. Usually, this isn't that important for general partitioning purposes.

    Try the Safe Mode version if you haven't and also do as XIII suggests and request an updated build from Acronis. They have it. I don't know why they don't post it so people can just download it.
     
  4. zooburner

    zooburner Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Posts:
    43
    Location:
    England
    HIya there

    Yes i did try the safe mode, but with no luck, G-parted which is linux based (so i understand) see's them all, and moreover gives me the full 1680x1050 resolution on my monitor while doing so.

    I did contact live support who after asking for my keycode provided me with a link to the Boot Disc, which did work fine, but after trying the latest version of G-parted I'm not sure if im going to use DD10 anymore.

    I suppose its way to much to hope that Acronis will update TI10 so that is see's the drives (in either full, or safe modes) so i will stick with image for DOS for that which as you probably know gives options for either direct or BIOS access.

    have fun, and thak you very much for the help, i love forums like this... :D

    zoo
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.