Disgusting Service.

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by wolfie75uk, Mar 14, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. wolfie75uk

    wolfie75uk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Posts:
    1
    Ok so this will no doubt be seen as a pointless rant but hey, i feel i and many have the right to rant.

    the way ESET has handled the release and issues with V4 is a disgrace. when people are paying good money for a product they expect it to at least function and defiantly not just kill any connectivity. Ok some people seem to have it working fine but there seems to be many many more both on these forums and on many of the security and anti-malware sites i am seeing nothing but threads on how V4 is killing connections. Ok mistakes happen maybe bugs slip through some unexpected error. But what i do really hate is the fact that when support tickets and sent the reply is a standard copy paste reply linking to a guide that would never and could never solve the issue. Not a single official thread to say sorry your having problems we aware aware of the issue we are working on it... No silence. If your going to take peoples money at least have the decency to talk to them. nothing is worse then ignorant businesses that just take your money and couldn't care less about your happiness. and not to mention the fact moderators telling people that this bug/fault is new and never been seen before when its a well known much talked about bug that was in both beta and RC, but hey lets through it out there anyway...who cares if it screws people around. but the bug faults i can forgive but the customer service and after-care is something i cant. I can however promise i or my clients wont be sending any more money esets way.
     
  2. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    There has been an ' in passing ' acknowledgement by Marcus in a post today.

    POSTED HERE

    Colin
     
  3. silverfox55

    silverfox55 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Posts:
    97
    Location:
    The Original Washington
    My thoughts exactly on the customer service, A "passing" acknowledgement is not sufficient for a company of this size. A proper and decent acknowledgement should be forthcoming immediately with a time frame for solving the problem. Who knows it might take a year to solve the problem but then the company might be dead then with all the bad publicity.
     
  4. The Nodder

    The Nodder Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    296
    Location:
    UK
    OK, the "fix" as Marcus posted will be on an update.

    So, to receive the update V4 has to be installed, the firewall wont work and internet connection is, well, lousy and cant be guaranteed,
    so how can it be downloaded ?
     
  5. silverfox55

    silverfox55 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Posts:
    97
    Location:
    The Original Washington
    Ever heard of telepathy o_Oo_O

    sorry just joking. who knows o_O
     
  6. stratoc

    stratoc Guest

    i don't see why all the anger about v4 is around? it's a brand new product which had a limited beta life and v3 is available and is excellant.
    if you go to any anti- virus forum you will see problems with updates, bsod and connection problems eset's nearest competitor has them and i their version has been out for a year.
    when v3 was released problem were evident and solved quicker than i have seen from other companies.
    If you payed for v3 and v4 doesnt work use v3 for a while, if you payed for v4 then don't buy just released software.
    im not using eset on this pc anymore, but they will fix things and it's not as if anyone is unprotected with 3 versions still supported and available.
     
  7. camperguy01

    camperguy01 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Posts:
    20
    The anger is there because this is more than just a minor flaw. Trying to use the internet with V4 installed is a mess. I don't get the mentality that says it's the customers fault for purchasing newly released software. Granted there can always be issues but this large of an issue should never had made it past beta. Esets lack of response/communication has been horrible.

    People communicating their displeasure is a good thing for Eset (if they are listening). It lets them know there is an issue that needs to be addressed. I'm pretty sure that the vast majority of customers that upgrade to v4 will never even see this forum. All they know is that they upgraded and now there are problems. I'm sure many of them won't be back.....
     
  8. silverfox55

    silverfox55 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Posts:
    97
    Location:
    The Original Washington
    i don't see why all the anger about v4 is around?

    must have been a staffer. I think from all the different forums all saying the same thing there is a serious problem which should never have got past beta but ESET in their wisdom ignored it and thought it was good for public release
     
  9. carmenp

    carmenp Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5
    I have looked for version 3 for NOD32 and Smart Security on ESET's program/download page - NOTHING!
    So where are they available?
     
  10. Capp

    Capp Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Posts:
    2,125
    Location:
    United States
    Where did you look?

    If you look at the attached screenshot, you can see all 3 available versions right under each other. This is on the Download | Registered Software page.
     

    Attached Files:

    • nod.jpg
      nod.jpg
      File size:
      93.3 KB
      Views:
      963
  11. Capp

    Capp Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Posts:
    2,125
    Location:
    United States
    Guys,

    Something else you have to realize is, software companies can't always just come out with a blanket statement of "this is the problem, we are working on it, we're sorry".
    Especially with security software. There is no possible way to test every conceivable configuration a client might have.
    We've been a reseller of Eset for nearly 5 years now and we've seen all kinds of problems, most of which are not directly related to the program itself. A massive multitude of things could cause problems when you have a program that hooks itself into the system as well as NOD does. There are no two systems alike in this world that are actually being used.

    You look at the forums and you see quite a few customers annoyed/angry because they got a BSOD or they lost their connection. What you don't see are the tons of customers out there that have no problems at all. Eset is very well known for getting problems fixed in an expedited manner. v4 is a new release and with any new release, you get to see all the problems come crawling out of the woodwork with all the various setups and configurations being used.

    The only thing Eset can do is to learn what the problem is, try to recreate it, and then fix it. If they can't recreate it or it takes awhile to recreate it, they can't fix the problem.
    As a software developer, when a customers calls and says "I got an error while trying to do this...", I have to be able to get the same error so I can see where the problem is. If I work at it for weeks and cannot duplicate the error, I don't know what to fix. I then have to seek out other customers to see if they have the problem. If they do not, then it comes down to finding out what is causing the problem on that 1 particular machine. This takes time.

    I see tons of users come on this forum and their first post as a new member is a rant about how Eset screwed them out of their money and broke their system. You look at their posting history and they have no threads titled "I have a problem, can someone help me", no, they instantly go for the bash. There are thousands of members on here that are overly willing to help get problems solved, but keep in mind, new problems require investigating and research to find a solution, so you might not get an answer 10 minutes after you post a question.

    My point is, v4 is brand new, bugs are going to be found. If you don't like that option, use v3. If v3 doesn't work for you, use v2.7. All these builds are stable and proven to work just fine.
    If you've taken the time to try and get all 3 versions to work, we can't help you and it is apparent it will never work for you, then it might not be Eset's fault, you might want to look at what you have on your system.
     
  12. psi2003

    psi2003 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Posts:
    55
    OK Capp,

    I read your post and I agree, but...

    I format my PC, install a fresh vista x64 and ESS V4. After that lost internet... I can't even get an IP from my modem.

    If a uninstall ESS V4, internet connection is on again.

    So I assume that the problem is my PC... :blink:

    Oh my God o_O
     
  13. Wolfeymole

    Wolfeymole Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Posts:
    8
    Location:
    West Yorkshire, England
    You missed the last one for DOS Capp and it seems to me that ESET is covering all the bases on this.

    It may be worth someone construct a discussion as to what exactly people are running to ascertain facts as to why V4 is not fully working for them.

    Just a thought.
     
  14. Capp

    Capp Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Posts:
    2,125
    Location:
    United States
    Sarcasm really doesn't help anything get done any faster. In your instance, it might be ESS causing the problem, but throwing out a sarcastic rant about how it broke your system instead of working with support and the forums to get the root of the problem solved, would be a better idea.

    As I mentioned, Bugs will be found. If you cannot get v4 to work properly on your system, use v3. You will have the same level of protection and a proven stable build.

    Give v4 a little time to settle down and try it again.
     
  15. Capp

    Capp Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Posts:
    2,125
    Location:
    United States
    I was just covering the major versions since he said he couldn't find anything but v4.

    All these people having problems, have any of you created a SysInspector log for Eset to examine? That would be one great way to start narrowing down the problems on the multitude of systems.
     
  16. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,828
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    Now that is effective. Let's see if you stick by your statement. :)

    Other companies have treated their customers in a similar manner. Webroot screwed up a release of Spy Sweeper version 5 way back when. Their attitude was beyond arrogance and their tech support was somewhere between criminal and comical. Symantec was notorious for cranking out buggy software and then failing miserably to either admit it or help users with their problems. I did what you said you intend to do... I promised myself I would never send another nickel their way. And I keep my promise. I don't use this program you are ranting about, but I sympathize with the treatment you have received. I urge you to stand by your plan. Economic boycott is the most effective tool a customer has.
     
  17. The Nodder

    The Nodder Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    296
    Location:
    UK
    Capp,
    The firewall problem (if it is the firewall) was found in beta testing V4 so ESET have not got a leg to stand on regarding a non-fix for it.

    It should have been fixed many moons ago. They did not fix it so they are now taking the consequences.

    I also get a BSOD with AV V4
     
  18. silverfox55

    silverfox55 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Posts:
    97
    Location:
    The Original Washington
    As repeatedly reported, this problem was found in Beta and RC and nothing has been done. I agree with Capp, if this is the first showing of the problem but it is not. So defence of the company is out of order this time.
     
  19. Erroneus

    Erroneus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6
    Agree! And one of those consequences are loosing customers. They have lost me personally and properly 10.000 more. They were a final contender at my work, to be the choice for our new security solution, which would have be used on 10k workstations, but no more.

    If you push out broken programs, with severe KNOWN bugs, this is what you get... consequences.
     
  20. camperguy01

    camperguy01 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Posts:
    20

    Sounds great. How much will Eset pay me per hour to help diagnose THEIR problem?

    No offense Capp, you sound like a decent enough guy, I just completely disagree with putting the burden on customers to fix a mistake they didn't make. And this is most definitely a mistake.
     
  21. Capp

    Capp Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Posts:
    2,125
    Location:
    United States
    Question... Why would someone with a 10k client network need firewall and spam protection for each workstation?
    Usually that is handled at the gateway. Nod32 BE would be more beneficial and it doesn't cause this problem you speak of.

    If it required, why not use ESS v3.
     
  22. Erroneus

    Erroneus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6
    Because not everything is coming in onto a network via a gateway (usb keys with vira like conflicker), plus encrypted data, can be hard for a gateway to pick up.

    It doesn't matter if BE does the job, what really concerns us, is the lack of support from ESET on this matter and the fact that they ignored the issue in the beta / RC's, and just pushed the final product out. If that's how Eset do business, it's hard to recommend them.
     
  23. silverfox55

    silverfox55 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Posts:
    97
    Location:
    The Original Washington
    Why have we got to use ver3 o_O
    Because ESET have made a total mess of ver4 and are doing nothing about it except deny there is a problem. It is total idiocy in this day that a product cannot work out of the box. I know you have ties to ESET and make money from them but do not insult the intelligence of the posters here.
     
  24. martinrabson

    martinrabson Guest

    'Eset defending Rant' On>>>

    I have used Nod32 and then ESS since its launch. Just upgraded to ESS V4 on my Windows 7 64 pc and cannot see anything wrong, internet is as it was.
    Having read this thread it makes me curious how you are all using your computers to be getting all these issues. I am a normal user with average technical abilities, and I find Esnet a competent software company and their software seems to work, although
    I never get any virus infections or spyware as I must just be 'perfect' (lol) or maybe careful? I have SpywareBlaster running for good measure.
    ISP - BT UK DSL with a boring Home Hub in default setup, but it works.
    My experiences must just be that of the 'silent' content majority, the 'angry' minority are always the most vocal, or maybe you all just surf on dodgy sites (ok, below the belt sorry ^_^). Just all seems a bit odd to me.

    'Eset defending Rant' OFF>>>

    By the way, I found this thread searching for ESS V4 and Windows Defender compatibility and registered to have a bitch. I'll have a look about now I'm here. With respect; looks like a very interesting Forum. ;)
     
  25. silverfox55

    silverfox55 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Posts:
    97
    Location:
    The Original Washington
    So the BBC web site is a dodgy site then o_Oo_O?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.