Disaster Recovery Solution for home PC users

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by starkom, Aug 13, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. starkom

starkom Registered Member

HI!!! I'm an OEM system builder and consultant for home PC users (work at home professionals with no technical knowledge but have critical applications and data on their systems) and have a set of regular customers who have had several 'disasters' where either Windows has crashed or the hard drive has crashed and I want to develop an easy to setup and maintain a backup/restore system for them so they can get up and running quickly after a crash.

Here's what I've developed so far:

Equipment needed:
    -External hard drive enclosure (USB) with an exact hard drive that is in desktop or laptop
    (can be larger capacity but must be at least the same)

-Acronis True Image software

Strategy:

-Install Acronis True Image on to desktop/laptop
    -Connect the enclosure with the hard drive to desktop/laptop
    -Run 'Clone' to external drive
    -Periodically run 'Differential' backup against the clone
    -Burn the differential onto CD/DVD until it is too big for the CD/DVD
    -Run new clone to the external drive
    -Begin 'differentials' again

If there is a hard disk crash, replace the crashed hard drive with the clone in the external drive
    then restore the differential to that drive, then.
    get a replacement hard drive for the external and start the process again:
    (Run Clone to the external drive,etc.)

Will this work??
    (I'm open to all suggestions/ alternatives) :)

Thanks!!!

2. DwnNdrty

DwnNdrty Registered Member

I may be wrong, but you cannot combine a Clone with a Differential. It has to be a Backup Image with a Differential.