DISASTER ! can't back up within windows (HDM 2009)

Discussion in 'Paragon Drive Backup Product Line' started by aoz, Jan 17, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. aoz

    aoz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2005
    Posts:
    223
    OK, on fast learning curve, working with newly bought HDM 2009.
    Had tried FREE version first.

    FREE version, running in windows, on encrypted drive, with WinMagic/SecureDoc, did back up from within windows, AND was able to then restore that backup.

    (I INEEEED to be able to back up from within windows)

    OK, installed HDM 2009, on my tablet (has Win7, the other test machine had WinXP)

    It is also encrypted

    I set up backup, started backup, tried to back up, but it is telling me that it has to restart system, so it has exclusive access to files.

    I thought the volume shadow, etc, was to handle this, and indeed the FREE version handled stuf OK on the test machine

    HOW to get this to back up from within windows?

    if that doesn't work, then i don't think this application will work, but I hold out hope that I just need to set some other parameters?

    thansk
    nick


    ADDENUM - NOW it seems to be working !!! After third attempt to get it to "manually close files", and I did NOT close any files, the VSS started, in the log, and now it seems to be running? Why did VSS not start at first (took 5 minutes?)
    I will keep my fingers crossed and watch the progress bar
     
  2. SIW2

    SIW2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    Sounds like something else on your system was using the same resources/preventing access to VSS.

    If you have that again , you could use Paragon Hot backup snapshot driver instead - you need to select it in the Backup options.
     
  3. aoz

    aoz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2005
    Posts:
    223
    SIW2,
    thanks for reply.

    It was reproducible.

    First backup set, I had unchecked "auto name of archive". So, that process stopped and asked me name of next file
    so I stopped the bckup.


    I restarted it, checked that option, and began again.
    Again, the system kept wanting to restart, to close files.
    I kept doing RETRY.
    after about 5 attempts (and about 5 minutes), the VSS started

    I will monitor it,but I will try the hot snapshot also.

    I don't mind working with this, it'll just take some time to get used to its quirks, etc, but my main goal is to get a more reliable backup program than the one I was using, as that company seems to have broken its flagship product.

    thanks again, will post results as I test it
     
  4. SIW2

    SIW2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    Very odd. What do you have running that might be interfering?

    Any other backup apps. installed?
     
  5. aoz

    aoz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2005
    Posts:
    223
    leave it to me to break something


    Windows 7, fairly clean, but several items do run, some windows resizing/customizing app's, antivirus, some others;
    if I click the list to see what is running (when HTM2009 tells me to close manually, it can show a list) there are about 30 programs running.

    But that can't be just my machine; many of them are process servers, etc, same stuff you'd see in task manager

    something just seems to be interfering with VSS starting up.


    The curent backup is running, about 19 out of 40 gig done so far.....


    nick
     
  6. Paragon_Tommy

    Paragon_Tommy Paragon Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Posts:
    918
    Aoz, if it's prompting for a restart, try the backup without the 100MB partition that's usually created with Windows 7 and disabling the system restore.
     
  7. aoz

    aoz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2005
    Posts:
    223
    what partition is the 100 meg?
    I see the tab for basic disk, then the mbr, then the c: and d:?
    I also have an f: drive, which is an SD card which I keep installed

    nick
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.