Disabling UAC in Vista

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by lu_chin, Jul 3, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. lu_chin

    lu_chin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Posts:
    294
    One of my friends is getting a new PC and is wondering what kinds of security implications if UAC is disabled in Vista 32-bit. Or is there a way to keep UAC enabled but cut the number of popups asking for password to a minimal? Is Vista 32-bit with UAC disabled more secure than XP with LUA/SRP?

    Thanks.
     
  2. jrmhng

    jrmhng Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Posts:
    1,268
    Location:
    Australia
    UAC pops up when a program wants to use system wide changes and requires admin rights. There are two reasons it is annoying 1) he must be installing lots of new software right after getting his new computer which is why it pops up too much. 2) programmers used to the old windows structure have coded in such a way that installs/programs used admin rights unnecessarily. With time, both these factors will cause less and less UAC popups.

    UAC isnt designed to be incredible security software. It is just part of Vista's user permissions management system that has been long overdue. There is lots of debate on how effective it actually is in terms of security so I cant give you a concrete answer to that question.
     
  3. BlueZannetti

    BlueZannetti Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Posts:
    6,590
    As already noted, unless your friend is constantly installing software (or running system level utilities), there shouldn't be popups on an ongoing basis. A typical user handed a machine with all of their desired applications installed should basically never see UAC popups.

    Blue
     
  4. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    Agree with blue.My vista Is quite as a mouse unless installing something.
     
  5. Someone

    Someone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Posts:
    1,106
    Hi

    I think you can use TweakUAC.
     
  6. lu_chin

    lu_chin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Posts:
    294
    Thanks all for the informative advice. I will try to convince my friend to leave UAC enabled.

    Have a nice July 4th weekend.
     
  7. jonyjoe81

    jonyjoe81 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Posts:
    829
    After the 10 or 11 UAC popup I diasabled it, and never looked back. Some people like the UAC popups but It gets very irritating to me very quickly.

    As long as you have a firewall/antivirus and firefox as your browser, you should be ok without UAC. If you use "internet explorer" as your browser then it's best to leave it on.
     
  8. Someone

    Someone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Posts:
    1,106
    Hi

    Can't you use TweakUAC?
     
  9. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    Well If he was not using IE and using such as firefox the UAC and protection mode does not apply to the third party browsers.
     
  10. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    Tweak UAC will leave protection mode on In a quite mode,But if I am not mistaken,If a program needs amin elevation it gets it with out the users knowledge. I feel safer known what programs try to gain admin elevation and IMO its safer.
     
  11. Someone

    Someone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Posts:
    1,106
    Hi

    But I think OP also wanted to cut the number of popups.
     
  12. RAD

    RAD Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Posts:
    332
    When I was first using VISTA, the UAC seemed like a PIA; but that was probably because I was using programs for the first time and tweaking a lot of settings. Now, I hardly ever even notice it.
     
  13. jrmhng

    jrmhng Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Posts:
    1,268
    Location:
    Australia
    Exactly, no need to turn it off. Why are wilders folk annoyed about UAC when they choose to use classical behavior blockerso_O
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.