disabled firewall (Comodo), still "true stealth" on GRC?

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by acr1965, Dec 1, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    Since installing the Comodo firewall I have always gotten a "true stealth" rating on grc.com's shields up test. When I had free Zone Alarm I never got a "true stealth" rating.

    So I was curious about just closing my browser, disabling my firewall, waiting 30 minutes or so , opening my browser back up and going to the grc.com site and then seeing what kind of score I would get. Guess what? A perfect, "true stealth" rating with no firewall whatsoever.
     
  2. farmerlee

    farmerlee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,585
    When you close comodo its most probably only the gui closing. Comodo will still be protecting you in the background.
     
  3. the Tester

    the Tester Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Posts:
    2,854
    Location:
    The Gateway to the Blue Hills,WI.
    When you disabled Comodo did you verify that?
    Task Manager will show cpf.exe as a process if Comodo is running.
     
  4. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    I checked task manager (actually Process Explorer) and Comodo was not running.
     
  5. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    I got the pop up warning that Comodo would not be protecting me when I disabled it.
     
  6. Pedro

    Pedro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,502
    Check under services.exe if cmdagent is still running
     
  7. Clweb

    Clweb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2002
    Posts:
    127
    Location:
    France
    May be a router is connected between your PC and internet ?
     
  8. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    I just checked under services.exe and cmdagent is still running so that must be the reason even though I disabled the firewall. So does the firewall run nomatter what?
     
  9. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    no router, I called and checked to make sure.
     
  10. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,693
    Hello,

    Are you connected through a proxy? Another gateway? Check the ip address before the GRC scan and compare to your computer's ip:
    /sbin/ifconfig .... joking ... type ipconfig.

    Do you use NAT / ICS - gifted people achieve through stealth using these.

    Mrk
     
  11. DVD+R

    DVD+R Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,979
    Location:
    The Antipodes
    If your running Windows XP SP2 Windows Firewall will always give a true stealth test, also at pcflank too The simplest of firewalls give a true stealth on these sites, its nothing to shout about,and I wouldnt worry too much about it anyways.
     
  12. the Tester

    the Tester Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Posts:
    2,854
    Location:
    The Gateway to the Blue Hills,WI.
    That's not accurate.
    The simplest of firewalls does not neccessarily give "Tru Stealth" at Shields Up.
    As far as I'm concerned,PCFlank's firewall test is junk.
    Maybe it's just me,but I think passing or failing a firewall port scan is most definitely something to be concerned with.
     
  13. Stem

    Stem Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Posts:
    4,948
    Location:
    UK
    I think it would depend on the results of such a scan. If a scan, as from GRC, gives a result of showing "closed ports", this to me is of no concern, as the ports are closed and no possible external access. If the results where to show "open ports", then yes, I would certainly look into this.
     
  14. the Tester

    the Tester Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Posts:
    2,854
    Location:
    The Gateway to the Blue Hills,WI.
    No concern with closed ports?I can understand that.
    That would be way better than having open ports in a port scan test.
    I prefer "stealth" or no response.
     
  15. DVD+R

    DVD+R Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,979
    Location:
    The Antipodes
    If you have updated your computer with all the latest updates, you WILL! always recieve true stealth at grc.com even with Windows Firewall, if you dont, then your computer is as leaky as a bucket full of monkeys :p
     
  16. TairikuOkami

    TairikuOkami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,508
    Location:
    Slovakia
    You can use local port scanner to scan for open ports, it is much more reliable, because you will know for sure, that you are scanning your PC. Try SuperScan, just type hostname & scan. If you will get all ports closed, it means, that they are closed or stealthed, so it is ok anyway.
     
  17. waters

    waters Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Posts:
    934
    Superscan is picked up as riskware by dr web ,fortinet,and antivir
     
  18. the Tester

    the Tester Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Posts:
    2,854
    Location:
    The Gateway to the Blue Hills,WI.
    As far as being current on patches and the Windows Firewall passing tests....
    I don't doubt that.My problem with the Windows Firewall is that it is not bi-directional.When that becomes bi-directional I may take a look at it out of curiosity.
     
  19. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    the Vista firewall is bi-directional but u have to enable the outbound protection (disabled by default).
     
  20. ccsito

    ccsito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Posts:
    1,579
    Location:
    Nation's Capital
    It looks like Microsoft has decided to not turn on outbound protection in Vista because they feel that it will be "too noisy" for the average user. So it ends up being similar to the current XP SP2 firewall if you don't change the settings.

    http://www.techweb.com/showArticle.jhtml?articleID=187000304
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.