Disable System Backup in Backup and Recovery 10 Suite?

Discussion in 'Paragon Drive Backup Product Line' started by denniz, Nov 19, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. denniz

    denniz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Posts:
    431
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    System Backup constantly annoys me with the message that the backup location has not been selected. Also when I configure System Backup to only backup my C: drive it insists on rebooting to complete the backup, why isn't hot prossing used here? I don't want to use System Backup 10 at all. I only really care about using Drive Backup Pro 10. Is there a way to permanently disable System Backup 10 and all it's flashy red status messages?
     
  2. Paragon_Tommy

    Paragon_Tommy Paragon Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Posts:
    918
    Right click the bottom right icon (Red Shield) > Show Console > click Settings > Backup Tab > click the hyper-link "every day", "every week" or "every month" and change to "Do not backup my system automatically"

    You can disable the follow applications from startup by going to Start > Run > Msconfig > Startup tab and look for the following exe files.

    dbhagent.exe
    dbhservice.exe
     
  3. denniz

    denniz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Posts:
    431
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I already did that, but the flashy messages from the sys-tray remain.

    I'll try this also.

    Thx :)
     
  4. SIW2

    SIW2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    That's how I turned it off - in msconfig:

    under Startup Tab - Paragon System Utilities.

    under the Services Tab - Paragon System Backup service.

    Untick, Apply, OK.

    Hope it helps
     
  5. denniz

    denniz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Posts:
    431
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    It worked great. :)

    I have the suspicion that sometimes System Backup conflicts with Drive Backup, because sometimes System Backup gives me an error message in the Windows systemtray that another part of Paragon is already active... o_O
     
  6. SIW2

    SIW2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    I'm not sure why System Backup starts up by default.

    In the Suite - the Express launcher has the option to start SB.
     
  7. denniz

    denniz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Posts:
    431
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I would much rather like that Paragon made the installation of System Backup optional during the install process. I really don't see the added benefit of having both System Backup and Drive Backup installed at the same time.

    Actually I find System Backup rather redundant, since Drive Backup does the same thing and much much more.
     
  8. SIW2

    SIW2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    You can just rt click and delete the program file folder if you don't want it.

    Don't think uninstall is necesaary - it used the same drivers as the main bit anyhow.

    I just deleted it.

    Main program seems to work just fine. The main bit is in Program 2 folder.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.