Disable on Startup

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by Alaskaguy, Feb 16, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Alaskaguy

    Alaskaguy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Posts:
    6
    Location:
    U.S.A
    I'm running ESET EOD 32 ANTIVIRUS 5 on a PC with Windows XP pro, Service pack 3, OS.

    Short of uninstalling the program how can I bootup/startup my computer and not have ESET load?

    Most antivirus and firewalls I've used before have a check box option for doing this but I can't find anything like this in ESET.


    Alaskaguy
     
    Last edited: Feb 16, 2013
  2. culla

    culla Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    Posts:
    504
    can be done with ccleaner/tools/startup
     
  3. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
    You could disable egui, but this would effectively kill functionality of the program like the start-up check. Not recommend.
     
  4. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
    This would be a third-party hack, thus disabling the functionality of the software.

     
  5. Alaskaguy

    Alaskaguy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Posts:
    6
    Location:
    U.S.A
    That's the whole point. I want to disable/not have it load, but I want the option on turning it back on later.
     
  6. tomazyk

    tomazyk Guest

    Maybe you can disable Nod32's self protection and then set ESET service to start manually. I never tried it so I can't tell you if it will work.
    I don't think that there is a way to achieve what you want through settings in Nod's interface.
     
  7. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    What is the reason to disable it?
     
  8. Alaskaguy

    Alaskaguy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Posts:
    6
    Location:
    U.S.A
    I have installed a 30 trail of Comodo Dragon internet security Pro 2013 for evaluation. I would rather not have both programs running at the same time. If after the trial period I don't like it I want to restart ESET.
     
  9. culla

    culla Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    Posts:
    504
    can also be reenabled with ccleaner
     
  10. Alaskaguy

    Alaskaguy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Posts:
    6
    Location:
    U.S.A
    Thanks to all that responded to my question.

    I have CCleaner so I'll try that.
     
  11. Alaskaguy

    Alaskaguy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Posts:
    6
    Location:
    U.S.A
    Using CCleaner startup tool I found all references to ESET and change the yes to no. when I restarted my computer ESET loaded as it normally does.

    I getting a little upset with ESET not allowing this type of end user control. A paying customer should have as easy way to disable a program.

    I may just uninstall ESET and never use them again.
     
  12. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    If you want to try another security program, it's highly recommended to uninstall the current one completely as it may be tightly integrated with the operating system. Some drivers are chained and simply removing them or registry keys might affect some system functionalities in a negative way.
     
  13. Alaskaguy

    Alaskaguy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Posts:
    6
    Location:
    U.S.A
    If I go to start, all programs, ESET there an uninstall that came with the program. Is that sufficient to do the uninstall by itself?
     
  14. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    Yes it is :thumb: But if it doesn't work correctly then let us know :)
     
  15. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.