Disable/Block Macromedia Flash in Firefox?

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by lappen, Jul 29, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. lappen

    lappen Spyware Fighter

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Posts:
    39
    Location:
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Is the Flash killer function in Spywareblaster going to be expanded to also work for Firefox?

    If not is there a way to disable flash in Firefox?
     
  2. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    I have not found mention of this yet by Javacool....but still searching.

    For those times I have used Firefox....FlashBlock may be something you want to consider.
     
  3. dog

    dog Guest

    I don't think it be possible as it isn't a matter of a simply editing a register entry (like IE). I haven't ever found anything in about:config but it appears to be possible through ... Tools -> Options -> Downloads -> Plugins = then disabling the to SWF entries (screen shot) should accomplish the task. Or like Bubba suggested Flash Block/Ad Block can certainly do it, using a Web Filter such as Proxomitron is also very effective.

    The most drastic move would be to remove Macromedia Flash all together - you can get the uninstallers from this Macromedia KB article - http://www.macromedia.com/cfusion/knowledgebase/index.cfm?id=tn_14157
     

    Attached Files:

    • swf.jpg
      swf.jpg
      File size:
      67.5 KB
      Views:
      817
  4. lappen

    lappen Spyware Fighter

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Posts:
    39
    Location:
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Ok Thanx, will try Flashblock
     
  5. lappen

    lappen Spyware Fighter

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Posts:
    39
    Location:
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Thanx for the Info dog!

    What I wont is to get rid of the “additional pluggins is required to display” message in Firefox.

    I guess a way would be to install Flash and then block it but it seems backwards ;)
     

    Attached Files:

  6. dog

    dog Guest

    Hi Lappen,

    Go into about:config and change the following:
    Which should disable that information bar from appearing. ;)

    The list of about:config entries can be found here - http://kb.mozillazine.org/ Search for about:Config then scroll down to "About:config entries — MozillaZine KB's list of preferences and what they do." ... I had tried to give you a direct link to the article but it ends up producing an error ... the page is located here http://kb.mozillazine.org/About:config_entries

    And here's another resource on Mozilla/Firefox Hacks - http://open.itworld.com/5037/book_050425firefoxhacks/pfindex.html

    HTH,

    Steve
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 30, 2005
  7. lappen

    lappen Spyware Fighter

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Posts:
    39
    Location:
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Thanx for the Info dog, but that seems to disable the bar for all pluggins and that seems to be a bit drastic, I guess I will have to install flash and then disable/block it.


    //Lappen
     
  8. Meltdown

    Meltdown Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Posts:
    299
    Location:
    Babylon
    I've seen this in unofficial builds of K-Meleon. If you want to experiment, go to C:\ etc Applications Data\Mozilla Control, and click through the subfolders to get to one called chrome, and find userContent.css. Copy that file into the chrome folder in your Firefox profile, open it in a text editor and follow the instructions. Briefly playing around with it I've managed to block flash entirely; it should also be possible to set it so that buttons appear on web pages that can be clicked to open any flash content you might want.
     
  9. lappen

    lappen Spyware Fighter

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Posts:
    39
    Location:
    Stockholm, Sweden
    I decied to install Flash and then disable it as per dogs instructions (disable swf), worked great :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.