Disable antivir notifier?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by rawwr, Jul 18, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rawwr

    rawwr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Posts:
    4
  2. The_Duality

    The_Duality Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Posts:
    276
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    By switching to Avast! ;):p

    Im not sure you can disable it. I have it installed on my little sister's PC, and i couldnt figure it out.
     
  3. Davidpr

    Davidpr Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Posts:
    92
    You are getting a top class AV for free so just pressing OK on the notifier window is not much hasstle.
     
  4. Eldar

    Eldar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Posts:
    2,126
    Location:
    Vilvoorde (Belgium)
    Hope that will solve your annoying problem. ;)
     
  5. dave88

    dave88 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Posts:
    177
    If you stop the process that does that from running the update process doesn't work. If I recall correctly, it's been a while.
     
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2007
  6. dave88

    dave88 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Posts:
    177
    Let me know if this works, and the auto update still functions properly.

    Thanks
     
  7. 19monty64

    19monty64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Posts:
    1,302
    Location:
    Nunya, BZ
  8. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Erm, yes? This "only" Ok is so friggin annyoing i just can't stand it and i'd rather use some other AV that doesn't do that even if it's detection is total crap.
     
  9. duke1959

    duke1959 Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2006
    Posts:
    1,238
    This is the instructions I used a long time ago. Reboot into safe mode and log onto Administrator. From there go to Programs and click to go inside. Once there find the Avira folder. Open it and find 'avnotify.exe' and right clicked on it. Select Properties. Next select the Security tab at the top. Then at the bottom left of that window, select Advanced. Then under the Permissions tab in that window you will see permissions for 4 users, one of them is System, another Administrator, another Power User and one general User. For each of these users, one at a time click on View/Edit. In that window the first item is Traverse Folder / Execute File. Check the Deny box for that item and then Ok. Again do this for each user. Then when done with each user, finally click the Apply button on the bottom right of the Permissions window. A warning pops up and asks if you're sure etc. say ok or yes, whatever the case is, and that's it. Close everything and your done. Reboot and if it works like it did a year ago your good. It's easier done than said, but you could just use Avast like another poster recommended.
     
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2007
  10. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,531
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    Agreed :thumb:

    @rawwr: take a look here
     
  11. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
  12. rawwr

    rawwr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Posts:
    4
    Actually, it is a hassle considering there are other FREE solutions offering the same level of service; I just happened to choose this one because one review on the web recommended it (antivir probably paid them off for the #1 spot, wouldn't surprise me after seeing this annoying ad in my face :rolleyes: ).

    I don't think I'll be renaming files or overriding files or whatever to fix this.

    I'll just grab AVG.
     
  13. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
  14. EliteKiller

    EliteKiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Posts:
    1,138
    Location:
    TX
    Windows XP Home and Pro:

    1. Boot into Safe Mode (tap F8 repeatedly after you restart the computer)
    2. Log in using the Administrator account
    3. Go to C:\Program Files\AntiVir PersonalEdition Classic\avnotify.exe
    4. Right-click avnotify.exe-> properties-> security-> advanced
    5. Under the Permissions folder you will see all of the users. Start with the first user….
    6. Edit-> Traverse Folder / Execute File-> deny-> ok
    7. Now perform step 6 for all of the other users-> apply-> yes/ok-> close all open windows
    8. Reboot the computer into Normal Mode (start-> shutdown-> restart)

    Windows XP Pro only:

    1. Start-> Control Panel
    2. Administrative tools-> Local security policy
    3. Click on Software Restriction Policy-> Action (at the top)-> create new restriction policies
    4. Right-click additional rules (on the right side)-> new path rule
    5. Click Browse and navigate to c:\program files\Antivir\ and double-click avnotify.exe-> set the security level to Disallowed-> apply-> ok

    Windows 2000:

    1. Click Start, and then click Run.
    2. In the Open box, type gpedit.msc, and then click OK.
    3. Expand User Configuration, expand Administrative Templates, and then expand System.
    4. In the right pane, double-click Don't run specified Windows applications.
    5. Click Enabled, and then click Show.
    6. Click Add, and then type the executable file name of the program that you want to restrict users from running. (For example, type avnotify.exe)
    7. Click OK, click OK, and then click OK (NOTE: If domain-level policy settings are defined, they may override this local policy setting.)
    8. Quit Group Policy Object Editor.
    9. Restart the computer.
     
  15. ccsito

    ccsito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Posts:
    1,579
    Location:
    Nation's Capital
    The splash screen is to induce you to switch to the paid version. ;)

    I wonder if the Windows OS system flooded your desktop with splash screens on boot up, how many would dump it and use something else? :rolleyes:
     
  16. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    I'm aware of Premium version after 1 update popup. I decided for a Free version with a reason and i don't want another 5000 popups to remind me about Premium version.:rolleyes:
     
  17. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Personally, I wouldnt ever want to disable anything about Antivir. If anything, I wish I could enable more.:)
     
  18. ccsito

    ccsito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Posts:
    1,579
    Location:
    Nation's Capital
    Well they are probably following the same strategy like those car ads on TV. You keep seeing the same ad OVER and OVER again for the same vehicle. (hey didn't they just show the same ad just a few minutes ago?) If they bombard you a million times, maybe you will finally surrender your $$$$. ;)
     
  19. Mele20

    Mele20 Former Poster

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Posts:
    2,495
    Location:
    Hilo, Hawaii
    Just put the updater into invisible mode. I didn't much mind the ads but then I got a six month trial of the Premium version. No more ad, but I got really tired of seeing the updater popup once every hour (I have it set to update every hour). So, I put the display into invisible mode and now I don't see anything. If I forget to periodically check the GUI to make sure updates were successful, I will be notified after the time I have specified for unsuccessful updating attempts. So, seems to me this is a non issue unless the free version can't be put in invisible mode and while I didn't do it with the free version I don't know why you couldn't. You may need to make a new job to put it in invisible mode but you probably already have a new job as few want the standard only once every 24 hours update.
     
  20. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    We already saw that they will not disable the ads on the free version, so if you want to use it, just disable them or use it like it is.

    If you don't like it, even if you can disable them, just use another AV.

    Easy, is not?
     
  21. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,779
    Yep, easy... I liked AntiVir best, but I refuse to use it for 2 reasons, one, the nag screen on the free version on updates, and two, the problems with the update servers when major updates come out. No thanks... I'd rather use Avast, or even AVG instead...
     
  22. dave88

    dave88 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Posts:
    177
    It wouldn't be so bad if it was maybe once a week, but having it pop up on every update gets old real quick.
     
  23. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    I don't have problems with that... :)
     
  24. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Just run the freebie HIPS DSA then use Process Detection module to quarantine avnotify.exe (as shown) & POOF! -- it's done with. Plus you get doggone good HIPS protection as well.

    (NOTE- As shown by the screenshot, I have also quarantined Antivir's avguard because I normally use AntiVir on-demand only.)
     

    Attached Files:

  25. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Is there any tool to just block programs from excuting and which is compatible with Vista?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.