direct partition copy?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by aHa, Oct 11, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. aHa

    aHa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Posts:
    5
    Isn't it possible to directly copy one partition to an other partition (not a whole disc cloning)?

    It would be nice to copy the actual running operating system partition to a second partition on the disc directly (on the fly) without the step of creating an image file, this would save time.

    DriveImage always was able to do so.
     
  2. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi, aHa

    Welcome to Wilders and Acronis Forums.

    No, I do not believe Disk Clone will, a clone is a clone if you take bits away you do not have a clone.

    You say Di was able [and if it still can] it is not a Disk Clone is it, and if you have it use it.

    Take Care,
    TheQuest :cool:
     
  3. aHa

    aHa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Posts:
    5
    So should I put it on the wishlist?

    Would be a nice to have feature:
    Copy (clone) a single partition (not the whole disc) without the detour of creating an image file.
    Very usefull for making a copy of current OS in multiboot environment.
     
  4. djmorgan

    djmorgan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Posts:
    167
    Doesn't the 'ADD a NEW DISK' function permit you to copy the os to another HD directly o_O Chapter 8 of the manual
     
  5. aHa

    aHa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Posts:
    5
    Yes, I've seen the 'ADD a new DISK' and 'Transfer to new disk' functions, but all of this functions require deleting/adding of partitions on the new disk.
    I dont' want to do this, this implies loosing all the data of the other partitions on the second disk.
    I just want to copy one single partition from disk 1 to disk 2 (or on the same disk) without any re-partitioning or creation of an image file.

    This was so easy with DriveImage, but seems to be impossible (or complicated) with TrueImage.

    Isn't there a way to do this with TrueImage?
     
  6. djmorgan

    djmorgan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Posts:
    167
    Hang on a sec... I was just playing around with disk clone to solve your prob, and setting it to manual allows you to clone a single partition and set the size and location on the receiving drive... isn't this what you want to do. :rolleyes:

    As to not creating a new partition well can't see your reasoning here, if you just wanted to copy the entire contents of drive C, you could do that with many programs but if you wanted it as a functioning active partition you'll need TI or something like DI, you could create a partition in free space on a new drive or existing drive and then copy the OS to that simple.

    Copying to an existing partition would mean at the least to create a folder ie. Windows XP and then copy everything to that, you can do that with xcopy... but it won't be a bootable partition.

    EDIT: forget the above as I go further into the wizard I see the imposibility of what you want as it needs to have an empty drive to write to.

    Back to the original thought, but you will need to have an image, then mount the image and copy it with explorer to where you want it to go.
     
    Last edited: Oct 12, 2004
  7. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Acronis True Image doesn't have such function.

    However, Acronis Disk Director Suite 9.0 (http://www.acronis.com/products/diskdirector/) allows you to copy partition to unallocated space on any hard drive. The question is will this partition be bootable or not. We cannot guarantee this.

    Thank you.

    --
    Best regards,
    Andrew Berezovsky

    Acronis, Inc.
    395 Oyster Point Blvd., Suite 213
    South San Francisco, CA 94080 USA
    http://www.acronis.com/

    Acronis support department
    e-mail: support@acronis.com

    Acronis... compute with confidence
     
  8. aHa

    aHa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Posts:
    5
    Thanks for this information.
    I'll put this on the wishlist, any chance to get this feature in near future?
     
  9. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    We cannot tell you anything about the release date of this feature.

    Thank you.

    --
    Best regards,
    Andrew Berezovsky
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.